Why democracies are not free

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer: this is not a pro dictatorship or monarchist article, I am for freedom and it is my understanding that democracies as well as monarchies and dictatorships are not free. (I am also not for the republic form of government)

Now some people are thinking I am a moron that is sitting behind a keyboard. "Isn't voting how we keep ourselves free?"
"Isn't the only unfree countries the ones where they can't vote?". I am well aware of those objections and I will answer why I think they are faulty.

It has been said that a democracy is two wolves and one sheep voting on what is for dinner, but I think it goes deeper than that.
downloadfile-18.jpg
The wolves themselves are not free. In Europe the majority is for gun control. Proponents of democracy will say they are free because they want to not be able to own a gun, I say the fact that they want to be restricted doesn't make them free. A man who entered a locked room by his in choice is not free of course, if he wanted to leave after going in the room he couldn't. The main problem with democracy is not that the majority oppresses the minority (that is A problem)

The main problem is that the people are only as free as the majority thinks they should be, the majority included.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ironman321! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41