Government: Double Standards, Special Protections, and MonopoliessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #anarchy7 years ago

The Dude Anarchist.jpg

Image Credit


Thanks go to Alan Lovejoy for the following definition:


statist. n. 1. Someone who believes that, in order to prevent the rich and powerful from stealing from and oppressing the poor and the weak, it is necessary to give the rich and the powerful a monopoly on making law, enforcing the law, stealing from whomever they choose, and judging whether or not they've followed the laws that they themselves make.


Did everyone consent? Was it voluntary? If the answer is yes to both questions, it is ethical. No government is required either.


Sort:  

Nice one :D I am truly in favor of a small government and increased personal rights.
You can built an amazing society with the values of personal ownership and personal responsibility

One sheriff for every town mate

I used to believe in sheriffs. I even went through six months of academy as a volunteer deputy for my county. The sheriff is a politician though. They don't function as they once did.

As soon as they found out I was public about my defense of liberty, they quickly found a reason to suspend me. I was a sworn officer for about a month. They didn't even make an ID for me.

Thats truly a shame.

Hey brother. Small world. We are also friends on Facebook. I have also seen you around YouTube. We follow the same groups of alt news. Keep spreading the word.

Hello! I'm not sure who you are by your handle, but thanks for replying. It's always great to connect with another friend. Send me a message on fb perhaps?

The human animal is capable of self regulating. More of us should try it.. Would there be a need for governance via a central mechanism, the State, if people realized they can self-govern? Would we need all of these branches of government to "manage behavior" if people would learn to excercise restraint & self control? Possible, just not probable. People cannot rely on government to 'control' anything unless all power is first relnquished to them, right? We all know the outcome of that trade off..

Yeah, it doesn't sounds like a good trade to me either. If others want to make it, I'm all for them making that decision. Just leave me out of it.

Excellent definition of a statist!

I talked to a feminist once and she kept talking about consent in terms of sex and women's rights - the moment I brought up consent in terms of economics and all things liberty, she got a headache and had to leave:)

Logic doesn't work with hardcore programming, I guess...

Haha, yeah. They are programmed well unfortunately. It is like talking to a brick wall, so I don't even engage people much anymore. If they are ready, they will take the steps down the right path on their own. I'll gladly help them if they ask though!

Congratulations @finnian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

My definition of statist is: one who believes governing others to be a legitimate human endeavor.

I suppose that depends on the definition of governing? I have no problem with voluntary governance for example. My children are governed by me in a sense too, right?

I live in Virginia- state monopoly on retail liquor- as if that's keeping it out of the hands of kids and severe alcoholics? Yeah right. As a matter of fact our former corrupted Governor McDonnell (R) not to be confused with our current corrupted Governor McAuliffe (D) promised in his campaign to privatize the ABC- did that happen? Of course not. Anyways I told the clerk at the state monopoly liquor store today that only the state could get away with what is clearly a monopoly and THEN charge sales tax on top of that- liars and thieves.

I've started brewing my own mead partly to avoid giving them any more of my business. How close to Charlottesville are you? If you are relatively close, I'll have to give you a bottle from one of my batches of mead. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97