You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Compulsory Schooling is Child Imprisonment, Part 3

in #anarchy7 years ago

Like you I am much in favor of education and believe that home based education is a great alternativ.
The most common argument I hear against homeschooling is that it requires one parent to be home and therefor not work (at least not fulltime). Not working means not contributing to society and also not paying taxes.It also means having a smaller income than a household with two working parents.
These are arguments that I often hear from people not understanding our choise to homeschool our children.

Sort:  

I often hear the same objections. I think I'll do a post addressing them in the future.

"Not working means not contributing to society and also not paying taxes.It also means having a smaller income than a household with two working parents."

You say this as if it's a bad thing? Sounds like an added benefit to me :)

When people use it as an argument against homeschooling it is deffinitely considered a very bad thing. You might see it as a benefit but not many people in Sweden will so it is very difficult to turn their argument around.

Hmmm You're right. It doesn't make a good argument unless they agree to listen to it be fully explained...

When our society produces the qualitative outputs as it does (increased mental disorders, increases health disorders, increase in working hours, decrease in environmental health, etc) it makes a fairly easy case against the continuation and support of said society. I don't believe there is a single quality of life metric our society at large produces that is favourable against a simple alternative society (that would be entirely in favour of families spending as much time together as they'd like, this would include our natural inclination to teach and be with our own children) the simple idea of having both parents spend the majority of their waking hours not with their children and not together; but at 'work', in my mind is patently absurd. Any system that produces these situations is not creating much "benefit". So, I believe that not supporting such a system would actually be in everyone's best interest.

Raising my children to be capable of living-in and creating a new society is, in my mind (and heart), the only argument I would ever need to support my decision to raise my own children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75