Where did we go wrong? (ORIGINAL POST) @ethanjames as author.

in #anarchy8 years ago

Society.. If that's what you'd even call it anymore,
Has become a figment of imaginations. You see, society literally means "A group of people involved in persistent social interaction". But besides consuming, when was the last time human beings actually interacted with each other at all? I mean come on. We glorify how popular we are in our own worlds by how many friends we have on social media or how many people are following our make believe lives, sugar coated for everybody BUT ourselves. Yet we still spend our days trapped in front of computer screens completely severed from all other living organisms that surround us. Instead of connecting to one another on a spiritual level, we have all become machines that stay connected to the mainframe of digital life. I mean don't get me wrong. I don't mind not interacting with most people. In all seriousness I'd prefer not to. People aren't real anymore. Most have become plastic shells. Synthetic humanoids that blindly follow orders and live out their numb existence. People who care more about getting "likes" on Instagram, spending a weeks pay at a nightclub or get in years worth of debt to acquire that third car you sure as hell don't need. Feeding their own ego instead of each other.

But I guess that's what happens when we live in an age where everybody thinks they are celebrities. People who claim they are camera shy, but when one is put in their face, they practically rub their nipples to it. Where all they give a shit about is the dollar bills and the materialistic lifestyle. They'd rather read a gossip magazine than actually expand their minds with useful and logical information. When the fuck did we go wrong? When did life become one giant rehearsal for a reality TV program. Ha, 'Program'. You've gotta love that word. I guess we are all programmed to consume. We are all programmed to remain sedated and submit to lives that resemble a form of advanced slavery. Maybe we aren't even sedated anymore? Perhaps our egos have just become so inflated that it's turned us blind and deaf to the injustices inflicted upon us on a daily basis. I find it amusing to be honest.. the amount people talk about themselves. We all believe ourselves to be some unique god-like beings and act superior in someway to the next man. We are in an age of sociopaths.

So as I previously stated, where did we go wrong? Will we as a species find a way to break free from the invisible chains of the powers that be? I believe we will. First we have to break away from the ego. Stop being so fucking obsessed with ourselves over nothing. If we want to proceed as and intellectual species then maybe stop putting ourselves first and pretending like we're some already superior beings. How are we ever going to advance if we keep living and acting like this? If we just worked together more instead of for personal gain, I believe we could go very very far. I don't know, these are just the ramblings of someone 'society' (there's that word again), would label as crazy or deranged. When I feel like I'm one of few sane ones. One of the 'damaged' test subjects who is able to see through the cracks.. Time will tell.
@ethanjames

Images references: www.google.com

Sort:  

Greed is subjective. We all act in our own self interest, and forgive ourselves, but call the other guy, 'greedy'.
Greed isn't the problem; greed amplified by the power of the state is the problem. If the only way to acquire wealth was by providing valued goods and services to your fellow man, then we'd admire the 'greedy' as those providing the most valuable goods and services to the most people.

This is how I see people as a whole: 10% actively good, 10% actively bad, 80% in flux.

Your post on steemit apparel is too old to comment on, so:

I love the image on the back!

I see some ink too, why not enter the TATTOO STORY CONTEST?

Check out that contest and think about entering it!
Thanks for the attempted promotion earlier too.
(I did not know about rules like that either)


A logo/signature for you to copy image address if you want to use it.

postimage
Here is a little one too!
(if you don't want to use it, no problem, I was just having some fun and trying to bless you.

Wow, thanks man. I'm feel humbled for this. You definitely didn't have to do this. But I will happily use the two of them. You are a true legend. I apologise that I have nothing of true value to offer for your work besides my gratitude.

I think they are better than nothing, so until you get something better feel free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71