VILLAIN: Anarchy Argument On Road Trip To Las Vegas

in #anarchy8 years ago

I was recently on a road trip to Las Vegas, location scouting for a new production I'm doing, one thing lead to another, and I got into an anarchy argument with my best friend.

I was just getting around to explaining the Non-Aggression Principal, real capitalism, and universally preferable behavior... when we were caught in a traffic jam and I gave an overly aggressive honk and middle finger to the asshole in front of me (giving anarchists a bad name I know).

My friend turned to me and said, "See, you just initiated the use of force!"

"No, I used my communication skills in an aggressive capacity." I replied.

"Exactly!" He said. "You used aggression. You sent him a threatening message to get him to move. The world can't work without aggression. You can't even get around without it."

It's probably a good time to mention that he's Eastern European, and the idea of 'limited government/anarchy/Don't Tread On Me' are not exactly concepts that he's familiar with. I told him this was incorrect, given that honking is fairly universal traffic language that humans have developed, and, short of road rage, of which I have never participated, honking is a fairly voluntary thing to do. I could have taken the argument into the territory of, "If the roads were privatized there wouldn't be traffic to honk at," but I decided against it.

But his reaction has stuck with me ever since. Where do you draw the line between aggressive communication, and communicating a threat? Is it okay in a voluntaryist framework to act aggressively? Stoicism is great and all, but at the end of the day I need to drive on these damn government roads.

To read more of my stuff head on over to @escapehatch for more Villainous Reads

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89