"Never discuss politics or religion"

in #anarchy8 years ago

Here's a secret: I don't like discussing politics or religion with people face to face, in real life.

It makes me very uncomfortable. Almost to the point of panic. Especially when it comes at me out of nowhere. I am almost never the one to bring up such subjects in real life. I just don't do it.

Yet, so many people want to discuss these things with me. They know I have an opinion- and generally even know what it is. But they don't want to learn- they just want to hear me talk about it so they can disagree.

Sometimes I just refuse to talk about it. Sometimes I'm caught off-guard and start talking before I realize what has happened. Then the "fight or flight" kicks in as soon as I realize where the conversation has gone. Probably not a good thing at all.

If there were going to be a good, honest discussion, it would be one thing. But it's not. It's always an attempt to trip me up (doesn't happen); to fling questions at me in rapid succession so I don't have a chance to answer one before 2 more have been tossed out (almost always), or find the areas where I have no simple answers (happens a lot).

In those type of "discussions", there can be no communication.

Yes, these are topics of critical importance. The quality of life- sometimes life itself- depends on getting the answers right. Carefully and thoughtfully. But, people are going to believe what they believe. I don't think I'm going to change anyone's mind under those circumstances.

I suppose it's the danger of being known as outspoken and opinionated.

Sort:  

TRIGGERED.
Looking for a safe space now.

i love destroying ignorance in public. it makes me giddy. it's like shooting skeet. boom, boom, boom. each fallacy is a little clay pigeon, just waiting for buck shot logic to come and blast it into flinders. i don't make or keep many friends, but were these people who live in deliberate denial worth my friendship anyway? i love being called names too. all it means is they have nothing, no arguments at all. it's great. accentuate the positive even when i'm being inundated with idiots.

my new favorite non-argument is, "oh, come on!" i crack up every time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75