It could be worse- you could be a statist!

in #anarchy8 years ago

I am a much less angry person since I dropped any belief in "authority" of The State (or anyone).

We AVAL (Anarchists/Voluntaryists/Abolitionists/libertarians) are always accused of being what we are because of anger, but the angriest people I see are statists. Maybe that's because nearly everyone I see is a statist.

But, really, statists are just consumed with anger. Sure, they hide it behind euphemisms like "rule of law" and such, but scratch the surface and you'll see the true foundation of their belief.

But, me?

I don't have much desire to punish others, or control them. I don't expect perfection, but I will hold people accountable. Is expecting accountability "anger"? Well, when the bad guys don't want to be held accountable, I suppose it looks like that to them. Also, they really hate it when they force you to defend yourself from them- and they will call you names for that, too. But, again, the anger and hatred is theirs.

That doesn't mean it's all sunshine and roses. It is often painful to see things as they really are, rather than as you wish they were. And it can be lonely, too. With life, it's always something. But, it can always be worse by being a statist.

Sort:  

but the angriest people I see are statists. Maybe that's because nearly everyone I see is a statist.

It's called confirmation bias.

So, you would deny that most people are statists? Or that I am lying when I say most people I see are statists? I think you might want to learn what "confirmation bias" means.

don't worry about telos he lives in a logic free world. you should have seen him accuse me of wanting to kill children because i said the state shouldn't be allowed to kill children.

Anarchy takes either a small smart mature group of people doing their thing on a small island, or the maturity level of 300 million humans has to come up...

Anarchy might result in some people taking advantage of others, but government guarantees it. I don't know anyone who needs to be governed- although I know some (mostly government employees) who need to be defended against.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87