You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Anarchists Vote?

in #anarchy8 years ago

This is such an insightful post, well done and kudos! Basically everything mentioned here is precisely how I've felt about our "system" (using the term loosely obviously) ever since I was in high school. As soon as I stopped listening to and soaking in what society has fed me as an alternative to the truth, and started searching for answers myself, I had begun to question why we even have a voting system when our votes technically don't even count. Then it hit me.... who says we need to vote at all???? At the time, I didn't know what to call this realization I had, because I was still under the impression that Anarchism meant chaos and disorder.... suffice it to say, I was still a bit brainwashed. Then I spent years simply avoiding the matter altogether and living my life the way I saw fit to take care of myself and those I loved (which, in a way, was living like an Anarchist without realizing I was one!). Then about a month or so ago, a good friend and coworker of mine (the same one who introduced me to Steemit, @derekareith) posted some things on here that led me to revisiting the whole concept.... it was history from there. Personally, while I do agree that writing in "no rulers" in the ballot would certainly make a potential impact, I still feel that refusing to participate at all would make a bigger one, especially if at least half the population did so. The simple truth is, all we have to do is stand up and refuse to participate in their little game, and it would simply end, since there wouldn't be enough people to cloud up others from their corrupt truth.

Anyway, thank you for this post, it was very astute and it really allows the reader to put this whole concept into a brief perspective! Very well done!
Cheers.

Sort:  

Thank you! I love this quote:

The simple truth is, all we have to do is stand up and refuse to participate in their little game, and it would simply end, since there wouldn't be enough people to cloud up others from their corrupt truth.

Reminds me of "The Dot" video by @larkenrose. If you haven't seen it, check it out on YouTube.

I am loosely familiar with @larkenrose on here, but I have not seen the video, I'll check it out! Thank you. :)

All of his YouTube videos are fantastic. I also highly recommend his book The Most Dangerous Superstition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35