You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Pain of the Open Mind: The Joys and Pitfalls of Evolving Beyond Tribal Connections

in #anarchy8 years ago

Quite a thought provoking article. I think keeping an open mind and being willing to adapt your worldview to fit new evidence is an absolutely essential survival skill for today's fast-paced modern world. The other side of that coin is being able to respect differences of opinion and not get mired in seemingly insurmountable arguments with those who don't reason the same way you do. On a daily basis I work with people from all over the world and all different ethnicities. My co-workers include Japanese, Brits, Chinese, Americans, Koreans, Indians, Australians, and others. It's made me realize what a truly global world we live in, and I enjoy being exposed to so many different points of view. How boring life would be otherwise, if you were just isolated in your own little silo all the time!

Sort:  

I agree. Without the diversity of viewpoints, cultures, and idiosyncrasies, life would be pretty boring, and pretty bland. Coming to Japan has taught me about so many cultures beyond the Japanese milieu. That was a bonus I never really foresaw, but a very real one. Your job sounds amazing in that regard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39