You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If forgiveness has to be “paid for", then it isn't freely given.

in #anarchy8 years ago

Hi David,

I appreciate that you take the time for meaningful dialog.

I'm still learning to "navigate" steemit, but perhaps this tip will help:

If you go to your own euqreuqubla profile, you'll see four tabs on the left side in the black bar below the heading.

Click on the "Replies" tab there, and you'll see what I think is a chronological list (newest first) of people who have "replied" to any of your post or any of your own replies. I've hot linked both pages in this reply.

But, maybe you've already figured that out? In any case, I didn't think it would hurt to mention it. ;)

Now, about forgiveness; I am still in disagreement, but perhaps we are just not working with a common "definition set." Let me explain:

I see atonement and forgiveness as different aspects of perspectives on the same event.

You've said:

I understand your point of view about the options for "atoning" for sin, which is indeed poles apart from "forgiveness". Again, to "forgive" at all, it must be freely given; without payment.

Perhaps an example will help explain my personal understanding:

Let's say that you steal 100 Steem Dollars from me. I am injured. You have trespassed against me. In an extreme case, I might even die, lacking the economic resources to purchase food and water to live.

Now, let's say that I forgive you. I see forgiveness and atonement working together as decisions or acts of my will. From your perspective, it is true that there is no payment required of you. You are now "free" from the debt that your theft inherently resulted in.

Nevertheless, a payment has most certainly been made! I am still "out the 100 Steem." I am still lacking. I am the one who must necessarily have absorbed and must continue to suffer the consequence of your sin against me.

It is my choice to cover up or atone for your sin by absorbing the pain and loss. That is the only way that I am able to "forgive" you.

I believe that it is in this way that Jesus (Whom I believe to be God) atones for my sin; by personally absorbing all the consequence of it; by ultimately restoring and repaying to my debtors that which I am unable to restore or repay.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70