You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If forgiveness has to be “paid for", then it isn't freely given.

in #anarchy8 years ago

Hello David,

Thank you for your thorough response to my inquiry; I'm sorry to have taken so long to respond, but I'm still learning to "find my way around" on steemit, and it's only today that I found your reply.

At first blush, I think I disagree with this viewpoint, but I will re-read and consider what you've said. I will summarize my initial reaction by briefly stating my view and understanding of "atonement."

My reading of scripture leads me to believe that all sin must be atoned for - i.e., covered or absorbed or compensated for in an effective way. There are only two available options; either God, in the person of Jesus Christ, atones for the sin, or the individual sinner atones for his own sin.

As far as who Jesus is goes, if you do not believe he is God, then we are vast poles apart on that point...

Thanks again for your answer, I'll mull over it some more and (if I have anything else to say) possibly respond again later. :)

Sort:  

Hi creatr,
Well, I am apparently not learning to get around nearly as quickly as you! :-) I just now saw your reply from 6 DAYS AGO! My goodness, God could have re-created everything in as much time.

I understand your point of view about the options for "atoning" for sin, which is indeed poles apart from "forgiveness". Again, to "forgive" at all, it must be freely given; without payment. I think Jesus' blood functions, not as a payment "to God", as though somehow God has to have His forgiveness purchased, or bought off. Rather, I think Jesus' blood functions as a payment to"the law" - effectively appeasing what the law (not God) required. Hebrews 9:22 points this out when it says; "In fact, the law requires that nearly everything be cleansed with blood, and without the shedding of blood there is no forgiveness." Most tend to only read the last part of that verse without considering the first part which says "the law requires..."

Of course, where there is no law, there is no sin (cf. Romans 4:15)

Jesus' humanity is another conversation that I'd be happy to have, and is fact integral to understanding the atonement for what it is; humanity's only hope for immortality. Before you discount the notion altogether, I would at least give John 8:40 a read, as well as John 17:3, and really chew on those two.

Really appreciate you creatr. Thank you!

Peace,
David

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70