You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't be afraid to trade comfort when you´re 70 for your dreams when you´re 20

in #anarchy7 years ago

I can affirm that you are right in taking this important step.

I am 74 years old, I survive on a tiny pension. I've had stolen from me, at various times, the few possessions I treasured, had my business destroyed by greedy people, and yet, I tell my family that if I have a split second to see the past when I'm dying, I know that I will be pleased with the life I have lived.

I did not set out to travel, as you have done, but I've been to all the continents, apart from N+S Poles.

I have not spent more than 3 years out of my life working for others. I've always preferred to work for myself, though I am a terrible boss.

I've brough up two lovely children, despite not having any of my own, so I do not have a heart ache.

I loved a woman for 25 years, but only spent less than 5 with her at my side - and those are treasured years, worth the emptiness of those I've spent on my own (maybe my one regret is that I did not have the courage to love again).

When I lost all my money, was totally broke, a friend took me in and even saw to it that I have cigs and chocolates. I had no money, so I sat at home and finally started writing. I have now spent over 18 years writing ONE story, it is the equivalent of 25 softcover books of 1,000 pages each. I have lived with my characters, shared adventures or even just sat talking in lucid dreams and my heart has remained alive and able to deeply love because of them.

At the end, I found Steemit and I now have the happiness of sharing my stories, while also finding new talents and helping them, even if only by encouraging them.

So, I don't have many possessions; little money. So what!

I have lived my life on my terms! I travelled this short journey with eyes open, never shying from seeing the odd and beautiful.

If that is what you are experiencing, you are a very lucky person.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42