You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Can't Beat Me Into Anarchy

in #anarchy8 years ago

I have moved through all three archetypes, and I sadly sometimes drift from being an advocate to being a fundamentalist again. I do try my best to spread understanding and to be calm, collected, and informative, but the sheer number of people that most all of us have run into on FB, Twitter, and elsewhere whose sole goal of engagement is to discredit anarchy makes it hard to stay true to the message. And you're right, as are Tucker, Berwick, and others. Anarchy is all about love, and in the context of human interaction, is synonymous with love.

You're also right that you can't beat someone over the head with it and expect to get far. It's fun to get into bash wars with trolls, but the danger there is the tendency to take that bashing and apply it to people who, although they may be incredulous at the idea, are open to conversation. Losing the forest for the trees is far too easy to do in debates.

Sort:  

I hear you. I've been both as well, though it's been easier as I get older to just embrace the advocate position and let folks be what they're going to be. At this point, I'll rarely debate unless someone is really engaging well and respectfully. When the sarcasm comes out, or some other form of derision, I might post one more time then just ignore that thread. It's not worth my time. And, honestly, I think we get further with readers when we're willing to walk away rather than let the discussion escalate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50