You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Long-Forgotten Art of Thinking

in #anarchy8 years ago

This is mind-blowing... 💥
I've had similar thoughts on all of this for a long time. And I feel it on myself that many, or all my beliefs are dictated by the culture. Thankfully, know we have Globalization, and the Internet, and we can travel a lot - these are all ways to get acquainted with different cultures. Yes, it is still limited to cultures, but at least there is a diversity of them.. I've grown up in post-soviet culture, and it's very limiting, I must admit... People are full of prejudices and are afraid of anything new (so am I to some extent, but I'm working on it).
But to speak even more broadly - it's difficult to find a solution to this, as I believe the governments are more that comfortable with the culture-limited minds of ours. :(
As this is a great post, I would like to include it in my TOP5 Lucky Find Psychology articles for today! :)

Sort:  

Hey, thanks a lot for reading, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I find nothing wrong with different cultures, so to speak - it's the general problem of culture itself being a limiting factor in our lives. For example, not marrying until a certain age, or arranged marriages, or being forced to work and provide for a family that isn't yours instead of traveling, or being required to dress a certain way, or being prohibited from exploring alternative beliefs and/or ideas... These are the ways culture limits us.

It's sad that people are afraid of new things. I think we should strive to embrace new things and invite the unknown into our lives. Again, that requires thinking. People who are very set in their ways are usually that way due to cultural programming. I travel to Mexico often for extended periods of time, and I can't tell you how many Americans tell me I'm crazy because Mexico is terribly dangerous, poor, and unsafe.... The funniest part? None of these people have ever been there - they're just passing down bullshit opinions instead of real experience.

As far as a solution goes, we can try to understand how culture prevents growth, and we can think, talk, teach, learn, and do our best to live outside of the limiting factors imposed by it. At least it's a start. It has made a difference in my life.

That'd be great if you shared my post in your TOP5 today, I'd be honored! Thanks for your comment. I've followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62572.49
ETH 2444.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67