Too soon? Oh well.

I couldn't help myself. Been really down lately because I haven't been making any progress, and I had to get something done.

So I went out and started a new bed.

IMG_20180515_171601511.jpg

This side of the yard gets a lot more sun than the other side. It's the south end of the back yard, so it gets constant sun about six hours a day, while the other side gets only about four hours. Things are much more lush on the south side.

We picked this spot for a few reasons:

  1. It's in the sun a lot
  2. It's at a low spot near the end of the old dog path where I planted clover. It'll get plenty of water here and make for easy access.
  3. It's close to the squash bed.
  4. It's in a really highly grown part of the yard. Now I don't have to mow this small patch. Call me lazy, I don't care.

We cut open the compost, and right off I was in love. The dirt smell was so clean. The bottom of the box was already rotted out. Most of the contents were the weeds from the area in the north end where we cleared out for the existing beds. There's a bit of coffee grounds, some expired produce, a bit of charcoal and ashes, and a bunch of eggshells. Sam and I kept it watered pretty well by peeing on it.

IMG_20180515_172341205.jpg

IMG_20180515_172428458.jpg

The boys helped me out a lot. They brought tools and helped pull loads. Not that it was super heavy work, but they were helping. There was two loads in each wagon from that pile. The pile of pollen thingies from our oak trees was about half that. We added it on to make more. I really like this stuff, and look forward to using it more each spring. The leaves in the fall may be a bit much, I'll have to find a use for them because there will be absolute tons of them. Too much for a practically useful compost pile. @brockolopolis, @elfmyselfandi, what can I do with way too many oak leaves?

IMG_20180515_173139920.jpg

IMG_20180515_173320076.jpg

Next we used some of our moving boxes and covered the area. Everything I've read recommended overlapping the pieces by at least 6 inches, so we did. There's two layers, and they cover the area a little more than where we spread the compost. Less mowing, more growing. I held it down with t posts for now since we don't have wood chips yet. I'm gonna put an ad on the local craigslist and Facebook pages and maybe some trimmers will have a load or two to donate to us.

IMG_20180515_174510119.jpg

I'm not sure what to plant there, and I think we'll leave it unplanted a while to give it all a chance to compost real good. After I mow (our mower is out of commission currently), I'll use the clippings for more compost and we'll be able to add to the bed. Not sure yet how well do it; guess I need to make a plan...

Any ideas? Input? Discussion?

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

Sorry my friend, the yard has been keeping me away!
I think with your leaves that they could have ground cover potential. Id slap them down on top of the straw at my place id i had them, then put the wood chips on top. Id think they would suffocate any weeds? I'm not certain, its purely speculation.
Also, it seems bokashi can basically turn anything into compost so long as it's air tight. We layed some of ours out last night for the first time. (Bokashi) with a handful of tomato plants.

Nice! I'm not to the bokashi stuff yet. This was just organic material in a box. I read the idea of using a big box to contain your compost, and used the biggest one I had. Nothing fancy, but it worked better than I imagined. Funny how I'm excited about rotten plants lol

I could definitely see using the leaves instead of cardboard. They suffocate everything wherever they naturally pile up, so that's probably a great use for them!

lol!
I've said things along the same lines over the past few months:
"never thought I could be so excited about rotting straw"
"never thought I'd be so pumped to go look at goat poop"
"never thought I'd be digging my trash into the garden"
"never....." it goes on and on.
I love how permaculture can turn garbage and refuse into beautiful things.
The garden bit about it is cool too haha ;)

Just a note on the whiz, unless yall are on a low salt diet, pee has a lot of sodium. If it becomes a problem, grow beets as a crop and discard the unused portions of the beets somewhere away from the garden.

Lol definitely not on a low salt diet! What would be the symptoms of high soil sodium?

From the designated watering spots in my yard, it manifests as bare ground, unable to grow even weeds.
;)

Hi Nate,
Cannot comment on the post, cause I do know zip about green stuff.
But to make it up with you I did register your post for a contest!
I do expect that you and the one which is hosting it, could have some things in common!
https://busy.org/@gogreenbuddy/daily-green-give-away-28-big-upvotes-up-to-usd0-70

I saw that man, I really appreciate it! Thanks a lot!!

I love that your compost is coming along so nicely. What an awesome tool you have in that. And your idea about sourcing your wood chips locally and free fiddy free is brilliant. Right in line with our ideas for a permaculture environment as well. Not near as well read as you so I'm afraid I don't have much to add except moral support 😃 But keep at it, inspiring all the rest of us dilapidated souls! #carryon

Idk how it happened. Honestly I thought it was gonna turn into a blooming pile of weeds, but it turned into dirt! All I did was put things in a box and piss on it 😂😂

That's about the height of my skill level.

Okay, so your layers are compost, spoiled hay watered with pee, and cardboard, am I getting that right?

No hay. Just composted weeds, fruits and veggies, egg shells, and coffee grounds.

I'm working on sourcing some wood chips to put over it all, then let it set. A micro trial of a food forest and quasi lasagna bed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66