Fiery Anarchists and Online Debate: Leveraging Emotional Intelligence and Overcoming Volatile Impulses

in #anarchism8 years ago (edited)

Love and Anarchy

The ability to communicate compassionately is a matter of mastering emotional intelligence and leveraging conscious control of the fight or flight response.

Tragically, many anarchists and logical philosophers are not any better at controlling their responses than any other person. They may claim rational calmness, but I rarely see this play out in debates online. In reality, it takes practice and effort to quell emotional upsurges of volatile energy.

One must focus on the feelings that arise in the ether of consciousness, name those feelings, and let them pass calmly like a voyager gliding through empty space. This is a Zen idea. It is also a form of psychological control. It is called self-soothing, and it is the epitome of emotional intelligence.

If anarchists fail to practice self-soothing, they will become enraged and start shit talking or shit posting, and this form of communication does not have the positive effect of allowing the recipient of the message to feel warmth and connection. And it is this connection that is a prerequisite of effective persuasion.

Taking Communication Seriously and Getting on an Emotional Wavelength

It is true that many people online do not care about this anyway. All they care about is trolling and trying to trigger people (although Steemit seems to be encouraging more novel and empathetic ways of relating).

Still, many people in most web locales turn into instant trolls if they disagree with content.

Personally, I think trolling is an exhausting waste of time and energy, so I take all of my communication seriously. I assume people want to have an authentic conversation and connection, even if it is a subconscious impulse. Therefore, I try to approach discussion with relationalism and nonviolent communication in mind.

And when I do this, it allows me to fine tune my emotional responses to their emotional signals. It also allows me to get into their head and feel out what their reality is like. It bestows me with insight as to what they need at that time, helping me to better articulate and express ideas more beautifully, because I am now on the same emotional wavelength as them.

This connection is what creates a true dialogue, and provides them with just enough calmness and clarity to consider changing their philosophy. This is the result of practicing emotional intelligence in the context of debate.

Lastly, I admit that I am imperfect at times and get sucked into the content and fire of the message, but I try to create the most conscious and heartfelt discussions when possible, even if I have to come back later and make amends for a reaction I was unable to control.

Communication is of utmost importance, even in regards to online discussion.

This is a video I created a few weeks ago on Compassionate Communication:

 

anarchy and love


My name is Sterlin. Follow me @ Psychologic-Anarchist. I also run the Psychologic-Anarchist Facebook page and produce many YouTube videos. My interests lie in the intersection of counseling psychology and anarchism. I write about the depredations of psychiatry, and also the new philosophy of compassionate anarchism. We have a large community devoted to discussing psychology and relational voluntaryism.

Me Drawingblack brain

Sort:  

It's too hard control own mind(

Thank you for this. A very salient post! Something we all should keep in mind.

Yes, @kaylinart did it! She does good work.

PERFECT :)

I haven't really noticed much of this on here. Did I miss some posts? I agree with you by the way and have had a few such debates, but everyone has been surprisingly civil. I haven't seen anything I'd call trolling on steemit yet. I have started to wonder if the chance to earn money and perhaps the reputation system is somehow encouraging more civility than is normally present in such discussions.

When I debate such topics on reddit I often feel like I am wading into trench warfare. I don my flak vest, grab my gas mask, and hope that the walls don't cave in on me.

I have not experienced a single instance of that here. Have you? If so I missed those posts.

Haha. "Wading into trench warfare." I love that analogy. So true.

And I agree with you about Steemit. I mentioned in my post that Steemit is creating a culture of more compassionate communication, and there is less of that type of behavior here. Not surprising, though. People are incentivized to think a little before they write if they want possible up votes on their commentary.

Thanks for this response. Well said.

I've been in the trenches.... reddit (or steemit) isn't even close ;)

Steemit is not the trenches. It is way to civil for that, which I think is a compliment, perhaps we can have great conversations without resorting to name calling, condescension, etc. . I've seen some pretty bad places and I've waded in before. I don't tend to like to stay there for long. You do have that "feel" of a veteran of such places though.

The trenches are where you meet these guys...

And trust me, they love their job.

Yeah I know all about them. My wife was one before it got to that level. Now she doesn't like them and is glad she is not one.

She and I were around 60 of them in a small town when they were worried about Hell's Angels having their annual gathering near by.

The Hell's Angels were not bad. Those 60 guys were.

I like this one A LOT!

I can think of a certain conversation last night on Facebook which would have benefitted from this perspective. :) After a month on Steemit, it was surprising to come in contact with language which appeared to be intentionally abusive and degrading. I also share your optimism regarding the quality of conversations here. I don't want to waste time discussing complicated ideas with people who can't show decency to each other, even if they passionately disagree.

Absolutely. And the beautiful thing about Steemit is that we can converse with each other and still gain some value from the time we use. In this sense, it is amazing.

I am glad we talked last night, Luke...and I greatly appreciate your contributions to this space. I consider you a friend and fellow traveler.

Thank you Sterlin. Hopefully the author of that thread you linked me to will find this post some day and try a more respectful approach to dialogue in the future.

I get emotional because this is life and death to me. I've put myself on the line for my beliefs and I have the emotional, physical, spiritual scars to show for it... I am passionate, and while I do seek ways to turn that energy towards productive uses and mutually beneficial conversation, I do often fall short... Good reminder to us all that we need to prioritize healthy communication. Thanks.

The Internet lacks competent polite communication.

That it does. Luckily, I feel like Steemit is offering a solution to that problem.

Great message! If only more would listen. I have yet to meet an anarchist that can take his views being challenged without throwing insults, or reneging upon confrontation and shouting "Troll!"

I already replied once... here is my satiracle response. [i.e. not serious]

You are rather presumptious in your superiority. Your ancestors must have spent some time amongst the neanderthals. Emotions are important. They show us the truth. Logic can stifle us. You should let your mind run free, and emotions are part of that. Reason can root your feet so you never make a decision. Inaction is bad. You should read the book by X, and Y, as my appeal to authority proves I am correct. I also generalize that because I am right about this I am right about everything else. You should believe me. See how powerful my appeal to authority is. I also have many pieces of paper framed on my walls that say I know things. You do not fully comprehend how powerful my appeal to authority is. You definitely should not challenge me, simply bow down and kiss my boots now. I'll pat you on the head and tell you that you are becoming AWAKE. For only someone sleeping would fail to recognize my superior mind and thus my authority. I am expert on X but I'll tell you everything you need to know about Y as though I were also an expert in that.

If you failed to understand what I wrote as the first sentence. This is a joke. I don't believe a single word of what I just wrote.

@moneymaker People lack competent polite communication! The internet it's just a tool.

Indeed, and hopefully we can help people see that humans are still humans online, and compassionate communication can be greatly rewarding for all parties.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64