You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Want You to be an Anarchist

in #anarchism8 years ago

It is a well thought out argument. People should want to belong to the groups that they are a part of...otherwise, they should not be coerced into their rules. No one should have to follow a law that denies them the opportunity to live their life as they see fit. But what about murder? Rape? Assault? Theft? Industrial pollution? Corporate fraud? These are things that affect not just the party committing the deed, but create a victim as well. Now, I am not one of those people that advocates for 100% security--that is a scare tactic. I would still argue that people need a basic codex in order to understand civilization and the trade-offs inherent to it. That's why we got Hammurabi's code. That's why we got increasingly institutionalized religion, to a certain extent.

I like your ideas, but I wouldn't subscribe to them under the banner of anarchy. Peace, love, tolerance, freedom from government oppression...I can dig it. Completely wiping out the public sector is irresponsible, at best, in my eyes. Again, just my opinion...but I certainly think these are the types of conversations that will move the world forward into a better age, whatever it may look like. I certainly don't profess to know everything...or even much of anything...but it is fun to conjecture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40