Thoughts on Anarchism and Capitalism. Looking for Input and Critique.

in #anarchism7 years ago (edited)

I wrote this almost nine years ago when I was actively reading and studying anarchist Ideas and philosophy. I tried to engage other anarchists at the time with mixed results, but non of those experiences led me to believe I was incorrect in my thinking of what anarchism is and should be. I wanted to engage the Steemit anarchist community to see how my thoughts hold up, and whether or not I need to revisit my ideas. So, If you have a few minutes read my words and let me know how full of shit you think I am.


From what I’ve read I like anarchist principles. If you look back, human society was fundamentally anarchistic. I’m sure some one my say then, that anarchism is barbarism. ( I don’t want to use that word, but I don’t know of any other to use so please offer suggestions) I don’t believe this to be the case. Anarchism is simply to ability for people to freely associate, and meet daily needs, with out influence from another. This influence doesn’t have to include social interactions in the since that my existence influences you, the individual, in some way. Whether the influence be as simple as pheromone reception, eye contact, or greetings. These are not overly complex social actions, yet their effect on us is significant. This is an inevitable part of existence, and extremely important on a fundamental biological level. Rather, the individual should be free of oppressive influence which may hinder the individual from meeting needs freely. Now, this raises debate over the meaning of freedom as an idea, and its influence within a given society. I personal believe to be free means to be able to live with out oppressive influence. If the individual follows anarchistic principles, then by a result of their personal action, and social influence, others will benefit automatically. This is because by manifesting anarchistic ideas in physical or tangible forms the individual is personally insuring the ability of others in the community to live a free life to the best of the individual’s ability. It is immoral and unethical to do otherwise. It is biological advantageous to live in a way that meets the need of a community to insure healthy genetic distribution.

Capitalism is not democratic and can not be if we consider the dollar comparable to a vote. The problem is that not everyone has a dollar. So if you have more dollars than me, you have more votes. Basic economics courses speak of this. They call it effective demand. To participate in a capitalist system you must own capital. Other wise you can not exercise effective demand. All capital is finite. Capital includes, land, tools, cash, rocks, etc. The most basic form of capital is the individual who, hopefully, is in full control of themselves and their labor capital. There are four ways to obtain infra-personal capital. Steal it, trade for it, have it given to you, or use what other don’t. Stealing would include taking by force or deceit. You could trade for it with your labor, or other capital you possess. Having it given to you explains it’s self. Using what others don’t could include collecting wild foods, or hunting. I have seen people use a pizza parlor as a metaphor for capitalism, but this description would only be accurate if the ingredients (capital resource) where unlimited. Of course capital is limited, and like wise access to capital is limited through economic structures. Conditions within our society create oppression that limits the individual from utilizing their labor capital. For many people it is necessary to have capital in addition to labor in order to earn more capital by utilizing individual action. In my state it is illegal to drive with out capital, and it is extremely difficult almost every where to work for wages with out a car. Thus, a person would have to have cash to purchase an automobile, cash to fuel the car, and cash to pay insurance. Since we are born with out physical capital, and lack the ability to express effective demand, most are dependent on others to obtain initial capital. If a family has little or no expendable capital then an individual is left to the four other options, but the ability to exercises these actions is limited.


17463_104868386199458_1765415_n.jpg
An Appalachian Anarchist.(Even he didn't know it) My Great Great Grand Father John Tackett.

Sort:  

Anarchism is simply to ability for people to freely associate, and meet daily needs, with out influence from another.

People influence others by there merely being exposed to their presence. You seem to be interested in avoiding a particular type of influence... but you then clarify:

Rather, the individual should be free of oppressive influence which may hinder the individual from meeting needs freely.

Now you have made a claim: that the individual should be free of oppressive influence. You might have been trying to support your claim here:

It is biological advantageous to live in a way that meets the need of a community to insure healthy genetic distribution.

... but there is a problem. I do like the idea of voluntaryism (a type of anarchism in which interactions among people are voluntary), but you are making an additional claim that this is the way the universe should be. Most people on any anarchy/voluntaryism forum will just agree with you because they like the conclusion. This is called belief bias. I say that you are making an empirical claim about the universe that you have actually discovered something in the universe that an objective observer can measure to discover they way things should be. I'm skeptical that such a discovery is possible.

Again, most people in this forum will probably agree with you, but it is not because you have discovered something that a statist will examine and then reach the same conclusion as you.

I argue a negative case: There is a lack of objective evidence to indicate that one person is morally subordinate to the other in such a way that one person has a legitimate basis for forcing the other person what to do against that person's will. To appreciate that claim, one has to first understand and accept some principle of science. Not easy.


As for the biological advantage of getting along... I would like to live in a place where people get along without forcing peaceful people to do things against their will. I avoid making the positive claim that I have discovered a fact about the universe that says that humans are compelled to ensure some kind of population growth or health or other such thing (I prefer to have a lot fewer than a billion people on the planet).

I argue that it is just your subjective preference to prefer one goal for the human race versus another... and furthermore, once you get into subjective perception, you have lost your rational basis to oppose the utilitarian views of progressives (there is a lack of evidence to indicate that the common good can be objectively measured against the loss of liberty, so there is a lack of evidence to support the claim that utility or common good is a legitimate basis for justifying the state).

I'm suspect that you find what I say to be foreign and somewhat confusing.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94