You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Losing Patience with Statists

in #anarchism7 years ago

Quick quote from Anthony de Mello:

As someone so wisely said to me, "Don't try to make them happy, you'll only get in trouble. Don't try to teach a pig to sing; it wastes your time and it irritates the pig." Like the businessman who goes into a bar, sits down, and sees this fellow with a banana in his ear - a banana in his ear! And he thinks, "I wonder if I should mention that to him. No, it's none of my business." But the thought nags at him. So after having a drink or two, he says to the fellow, "Excuse me, ah, you've got a banana in your ear." The fellow says, "What?" The businessman repeats, "You've got a banana in your ear. " Again the fellow says, "What was that?" "You've got a banana in your ear!" the businessman shouts. "Talk louder," the fellow says, "I've got a banana in my ear!"

So, yeah, urge to shout at "them" is understandable, but counterproductive. Shouting will vent your emotions, but close your audience up, and may confirm their prejudice: you just might appear to them as aggressive and nasty as they think an anarchist should be, so... there you go ;) But if the goal is to make them see the light, proper communication channel needs to be found and used. Deceptively, sneakily, wake them up, instead of letting them slide into a deeper coma.

And one more open question I've been asking myself for some time now: would it be possible to do something about The State, which resides firmly in the minds of the asleep people, without actually waking them up? Or is being asleep equal to being a statist, and it is either "awaken and free" or "asleep and enslaved"? Or am I playing silly games with words.... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89