You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oppression: Symptoms and Causes

in #anarchism7 years ago

Excellent post. I just wrote last night about how effective regulation is not done by government.

To your point about not just pointing out the flaws but starting to focus on solutions, one of the most influential books for me was For a New Liberty by Rothbard. For the first time in my life, I started imagining a world without government, authoritarian services. I started to think freely about how the things we want could be provided by individuals working together without violence.

Something I haven't done yet, but I keep thinking about... what if we all together as a Voluntaryist community took the federal budget, create a public google spreadsheet, and start outlining solutions to each and every entry on the list line by line (including striking out the ones which should be eliminated completely). I understand how no single individual can solve all the problems of 100's of millions of people and not even a committee of individual experts will have it all figured out. But I do think the wisdom of the crowd has a chance. I do think we can offer solutions instead of just complaining about the problems. Many of my friends who support government clearly see the problems themselves, but they haven't been shown a clear solution (yet). They are stuck in fear of the unknown. I'm hoping the Mirror will help with this. I'm hoping we as a community can focus more on solutions than problems.

I think Steemit is an excellent example. Uncensorable, free, open, unregulated by government. It's a beautiful thing.

Sort:  

Excellent points made by you too Luke. Thank you for the great visions and ideas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44