Anarchapulco 2018 - Where Anarchists Are The Majority.

in #anarchism6 years ago (edited)

2018-03-23 11.54.33 1.jpg

These Dash glasses were a hit. Thank you Chris.

Being a Puerto Rican, mostly vegan, Anarchist, Voluntaryist woman pretty much ensures I am always outnumbered (but never outgunned 😋)... except at this conference, where for the first time, I felt true kinship with people who believe in and live for freedom.



My partner has been to all but one of these conferences, and I never quite understood why he felt so strongly about going, until I experienced it for myself.

2018-03-23 11.54.25 1.jpg

Our Larken Rose cosplay.

Being surrounded by people from various walks of life, who came together because of a shared set of principles, who are actively applying these principles, and want to learn how to apply those principles...is addictive.

Out here in the world, I am always a minority, and my philosophical and political views are hot buttons for a lot of people. The mere fact that with every breath I challenge the status quo, in addition to the fact that I don't often mince my words, seems to create conflict and anger among family and friends alike. I really do believe that how I walk through the world has caused people to distance themselves from me...and that's ok. I am not one for relationships solely based on genetics and tradition.

2018-03-23 11.54.28 1.jpg

End of the show. I post this pic here because this is pretty much how I felt the whole time I was at Anarchapulco. Just a bunch of strangers being happy and living life and wanting to learn and be better and embracing each other.

2018-03-23 11.54.30 1.jpg

A fan rocks the mic with Killah Priest at the Anarchapulco concert.

While it is naive and unrealistic to expect to agree with anyone on everything, I now know what it feels like to be around people to whom I don't need to constantly explain and convince that I am not a violent chaotic who wants to see the world burn. I now know what it feels like to not be alienated and rejected because I know that:

  • All interactions ahould be voluntary
  • No one is more qualified to rule over me than myself
  • Self defense is a natural right
  • Politicians are crooks
  • Military & police are not here for my protection
  • Taxation is theft
  • Statism is slavery

The list goes on but the point is that there was no head butting. No condecention and patronizing. No telling me to move to Somalia. There were a lot of conversations, suggestions, encouragement, hugs, open hearts, community...kinship.

2018-03-23 11.54.24 1.jpg

Jeffrey Tucker & I.

2018-03-23 11.54.19 1.jpg

Starr, Luis & I.

2018-03-23 11.54.22 1.jpg

Eric July & Kieran.

2018-03-23 11.54.18 1.jpg
Kieran & some folks at the conference.

I met so many people whose faces I had only seen online, and though I missed a few that I had hoped to at least say hi to - like Larken Rose, Derrick Broze, Carey Wedler, Sterlin Luxan, Adam Kokesh and the man that made this possible - Jeff Berwick, as soon as I stepped on to the Princess' Hotel lobby, I knew that my life, my world was about to grow ...in the best possible way.

2018-03-23 11.54.31 1.jpg

Cody, Starr, Kieran & I at this amazing dinner spot by our AirBnB.

Next up: More Anarchapulco lol.

Linked Image

Thank you for visiting my Steemit! ❤

If you would like to follow me on Steemit, please click here.
For my photography, jewelry and other stuff, please click here.

pLe0aVc3e,

》3 5 5 1《 4
∞Crypto/Voluntaryism/Ⓐnarchism/Lo♡e∞
#FreedomStartsInTheMind

Linked Image

Linked Image

Sort:  

It's things like this that brings a smile to my face for at least a week... maybe more! Looking forward to hearing more the next time we cross paths!

Getting to meet you and hang out at your house and mingle with so many people that are walking similar paths was an experience in itself. And that will get its own post. I'm so happy to have met you and thank you for being so welcoming and warm Mike. Now I understand why Kieran speaks so highly of you.

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @omitaylor

We have planted already 3577.94 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20800.41
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65