You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Perfect Society, anyone have an idea?

in #anarchism8 years ago

I wouldn't call myself a hardcore anarchist nor libertarian, but I definitely self identify as anti-establishment. Personally I think we need a minimum modicum of regulation in our lives in order for a society to be safe, clean and just. Having lived in Norway I can say that Norway IS a country that is more safe, clean and just than my home country. In Norway any citizen can enjoy education because it is sponsored by the government as the current political climate is keen on investing in the future. Healthcare is also affordable, if not 'free' in many cases. Workers have a minimum of 25 vacation days, and parental leave arrangements are great: employers are required to pay 49 weeks at 100 percent coverage, or 59 weeks at 80 percent coverage shared between the parents All of these arrangements are possible because people are willing to pay tax and by and large support the government. There are also things that can be improved, like the time it takes to receive treatment for non-critical medical conditions, but generally speaking I think Norwegian society is pretty close to perfect, other than the fact that their currency is to a large extent pegged to the price of oil.

Sort:  

I have heard that Norway does a good job, but Norway had North Sea Oil revenues for many, many years. I believe that golden goose has dried up and now Norway must face another way to collect taxes. Maybe you have an update on this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66