Are anarchists atheists?

in #anarchism7 years ago

I have always asked myself this question, and the only answer I can come to is that either they are atheists or they have to despise God and the devil.

Let's see, if you aren't an atheist logically you believe in God probably all other spiritual beings, angels, archangels, satan demons etc. Now all of these are governed from the top down, for example on the good side the top of the pyramid is God and then it goes down to archangels, cherubs, dominions angels etc, I don't know if in that order, but they certainly have defined hierarchies.

On the other side, the bad one of course, we also have a pyramid with satan at the pinnacle, and all other demons coming further down.

Now an anarchist doesn't like this kind of stuff because it involves government, and government is something an anarchist hates, so I believe an anarchist of necessity has to be an atheist. What is your idea about this?

As a side note, you will notice I put God in capital letters, that is because I believe in a creator, but I think he is kind of detached from his creation. On the other hand I don't believe in satan so no capital letters there.

Sort:  

What if they just don't care for earthly government restraints? 'Only God rules my life.'

Interesting question @gduran,
according to some of the definitions for anarchism i see no reason why anarchists need to be atheists. Abraham, Isac and Jacob could all have been anarchists, don't you agree ..?

They were the government at that time, all the tribes did what these guys said, so yes, they could have been anarchists, but not the people they governed.

I am an anarchist and I believe in God. It's man that's trying to act like God that I have a problem with...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gduran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

anarchist can be reformed first from their family than from society

who created the creator?

Yes, that is a good question, and it involves a trap, because it is a question that nobody can answer, I have my beliefs and they are no better and no worse than what anyone else has because nobody really knows, maybe it all really started with a big bang or maybe not.

if that's the case then you should apply the same courtesy to the atheists...and the agnostics.

But I believe I am an agnostic, that is the basis of being an agnostic believing in a creator but having no proof you don't argue about it.

not the way I heard it.

Believers know there IS God
Atheists know there isn't.
Agnostics admit that they don't know, one way or the other.

ag·nos·tic
aɡˈnästik/
noun

  • a person who believes that nothing is known or can be known of the existence or nature of God or of anything beyond material phenomena; a person who claims neither faith nor disbelief in God.

Which doesn't mean you can't believe in the existence of a creator, just that you can't prove it, so why go into all that trouble?

Do you believe in unicorns?
I don't believe in believe.
Show me the facts.

There are no facts, doesn't mean you can't believe something, for example I get to think ok, it all started with the big bang, so what was there before that? When did time start when does it stop? Does the universe have a limit? Did everything just suddenly come into existence? I guess people have been asking these questions always, and no answer has been given, so everyone is free to think as they want. I can't debate this because I have no facts, nobody has any facts on this subject.
By the way and as a "strawman" did you know unicorn is the name given to companies valued at over 1 billion dollars?

@everittdmickey,
you believe in more than you think, you only need to wake up :-)

This is the best story

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

nice story,,,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80