You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A peak into my emails...

in #anarchism6 years ago (edited)

by the by my way of parenting wouldn't include a lot of the rules that I'm guessing my friend uses.. so whether what he's talking about is even necessary is probably debatable in its own right.. but I didn't want to go off track and my answer was just going with it and assuming that "making rules" for kids is appropriate

(of course I grab a child before they walk into the lake .. but really you should be talking about how there's a lake and it would suck to fall in etc etc before it gets to that point .. so physically grabbing them is a last resort not really the plan A of how you do it)

Sort:  

I think I got your point. The way children are being raised by being too dependent on parents is affecting their life and dependence when they grow up. I’m aware you are not left, just like Me. That’s their goal for us to be dependent on them and we are helping them thanks the way we raise our children. Parenting is way important for the next generations.
At the end you have a great point.

Parenting definitely important. To be clear tho, I actually have a slightly different take: I think kids depending on parents is fine and probably even good. It's natural that kids depend on parents.

Kids can't get their own resources. As a parent you want to provide. It's fine that they depend. They also depend emotionally and for guidance and life lessons etc. So I'm not saying that children are too dependent on parents, no.

(If anything I probably think the opposite -- that too many parents aren't involved and responsive to their kids. And then they think bedtimes and pointless rules is a substitute for actual parenting.)

It's good to give wiggle room and let kids find their own answers, but at the end of the day it's still fine that they depend on adults.

The stuff about parenting as it relates to the government was a metaphor. My friend was making that metaphor, and I'm basically arguing why the metaphor is faulty. (Because as adults we no longer do depend. As children it's normal to depend, as adults we are autonomous and it's not clear why my friend believes we now depend on rules created by other adults.)

lol believe me, I’m more confused now then I was before. But I think I finally have your last point. And congratulation to your 2nd anniversary on Steemit!
Have a great day 👍!

ty ty ty !!

and ya, it's a confusing thing.. like I'm pretty sure the point would be crystal clear once I said it the right way or whatever, you'd be like ohh thaaat's what you're saying!!

things can get out of control when metaphors are involved 🙃

@congratulation for your 2nd anniversary on Steemit!
thanks for share with us

thank you so much!!! time flies

welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75