You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A peak into my emails...

in #anarchism6 years ago

Since my screenshot was small, here's the text of what I said:

Well because it's just different, right? In their current format they don't have the capacity to weigh the consequences of things. (Consider that if your daughter damaged something or hurt someone, she's not responsible. You are.) So if I had to try to put my finger on what exactly the difference is, it would be that, that children aren't complete moral actors with responsibility and liability. So if they're not assumed to have responsibility then it follows that they don't have full autonomy. And you get both at the same time, two sides of the coin.

But really I don't even understand the question, like whether or not I can put my finger on exactly what the difference is, it just seems like a quiz, isn't it just kind of obvious that there's a difference between a child and an adult? Like if your daughter gets too close to the edge of the pool you grab her, but you don't behave the same when it's your adult neighbor. Trying to identity what exactly is the difference is maybe interesting as a thought experiment, but it shouldn't be like the burden of identifying that is on me any more than it's on you, because (I'd imagine) you obviously agree that there's a difference, for some reason. You obviously don't treat adults the same as you treat your daughter. So it would be on you to explain why, through the government, we should change it to where adults and children are the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73