You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't follow me, I'm lost

in #anarchism8 years ago

Wow! The Wow is for several things. First that J. Krishnamurti quote was one I hadn't encountered before. That truly resonates with me. That is so close to my own personal beliefs and something I say in a way that is nowhere near as short and elegant as that.

I love Stochastics and Chaos Theory. I haven't done much with it in a couple of decades other than some occasional fractals and such for various projects, but it is something I first became interest in around 1988.

I don't consider myself on par with any mathematician (yourself included). I was so much of a computer geek that I could learn math VERY fast but that also made me get bored really fast in mathematics classes. I did do a Stochastics special topic course around 92 or 93, and I went up thru Calc II, but haven't really used it much in the fields I worked in since then. I loved math. I did not like math classes. :) That is still true. I don't have much patience for doing the same form of problem over and over again as homework. I kind of see the reasoning behind such tasks, I just failed in the patience for them. I wanted to apply the knowledge NOW.

Third wow. I've lived most of my life in Colorado (predominantly on the Western Slope) and now live in the Westminster area north of Denver so I definitely can relate to that photo you shared.

I wish you and your fiance the best. You are a very interesting person, I suspect I'll be enjoying other posts from you in the future.

Sort:  

Thanks @dwinblood! I'm following your blog.

Fractals and chaos theory are so fun. I never took a course in stochastic but am sure I could figure it out. Math classes become more helpful at the graduate level, when you actually start to need a teacher just to see what the hell is going on sometimes. ;)

Wow, you're in CO. I miss it.

I did like Math. I just usually understood the lesson (in calc classes) in the first 10 minutes and the rest of the 40 minutes or so I was bored because he wouldn't give the assignment until the end of class. That was usually like doing 100 of the problems of the same type overnight and bringing them to class.

I was young, rebellious, and very much a programming nut. WWW hadn't hit yet. I was very active on the internet in college but it was all FTP, Archie, Telnet, and Gopher for the most part... and it was almost always a unix machine or a VAX VMS machine you were talking to... all command line and ASCII. :)

In my Stochastics class me and one friend did all of our work on Commodore Amiga 2000s... I actually did the entire class load of work for that in a week (like I said I liked it). Then the rest of the people all using x386s basically did what I had done. I had some mandelbrot set movies, and julia set movies, and some weird pseudo 3D attempts that didn't look awesome (3d modeling was still in its infancy).

So I'm old.... but I love this stuff. I saw bitcoin when it was $0.005/coin and thought "Gee that is a cool idea, but the government will probably squash it, plus $20 will buy my family a meal"

Of course I am kicking myself as I did recognize the potential. I just didn't take the risk.

No risk, no reward.

As to my blog... I'm kind of all over the place at the moment. I will likely make a regular gamedev blog as one of my pieces, as to the rest, I'm still trying to find what I might be good at talking about that people want to hear.

Thanks.

I guess those were the days, man! I didn't really experience anything before WWW and I had a Lenovo laptop and an eMac in college. I'm glad I grew up with sleeker technology, but also sometimes wish I had the direct knowledge of the history of computers and the internet that people older than I have.

You must have had a lot spare time to do what you wanted if you finished class assignments that quickly. I felt the same way about all the repetitive calc problems, but I started attending the professors' research sessions and going to math conferences and that was a bit more interesting.

I've met so many people who say that about bitcoin. sighs
At least we didn't miss the boat with Steem.

You could write about programming and hardware then vs. now, and how the internet developed vs. how you expected it to. I also like programming exercises and challenges. There used to be a section in "Scientific American" with programming assignments before the magazine got watered down. Have you seen Project Euler?
Don't know much about gamedev but I'd probably look at that too.

Will check out Project Euler... doesn't sound familiar.

Cool thing about a good game engine. You don't have to use it just for games. It just saves you having to do all the very complex building of a powerful and efficient 3D engine, and input handler. So you can focus on the fun stuff. Unless you want to build an engine. :) You can use the tech for anything though :)

EDIT: Project Euler sounds cool. I book marked it up. I'll keep in mind maybe posting something about old school computer stuff. I wouldn't have thought of that.

If you'll write about gamedev, I'll follow. ;) Also, we started long time ago, when demoscene was amazing thing, maybe you can write about it.

edgeland
Excellent work 👍👍👍👍👍🍸🍸🍸🍸🍸
Thanks everyone

You're in Westminster? My wife and I just left Louisville for California about 6 months ago - we definitely traded down.

Yeah I live in Westminster. I also work from home as a Senior Network Engineer, and part time Game Developer, and now steemit poster. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48