On Hierarchy

in #anarchism8 years ago (edited)

noun  hi·er·ar·chy \ˈhī-(ə-)ˌrär-kē also ˈhi(-ə)r-ˌär-\
Simple Definition of hierarchy
: a group that controls an organization and is divided into different levels
: a system in which people or things are placed in a series of levels with different importance or status

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/hierarchy


There are two types of hierarchy: voluntary and involuntary.  I’m going to take a look at both types and show why voluntary hierarchies are completely compatible with anarchic philosophy.

Involuntary Hierarchies

The first example of an involuntary hierarchy that we all experience is when we are children.  Our parents have control over us, in most cases, as children are generally incapable of accomplishing all of the tasks required to survive and thrive.  As we get older, we reach a point in time when this hierarchy is no longer necessary and we begin our lives as independent adults.

We also see involuntary hierarchies when we are at school.  Our teachers rule over us, while additional administrators oversee us as well.  We are compelled to go to different classes, at various time intervals, until we are released back home.

Another example is government itself.  We have no say over what our government actually does.  We allegedly have some control through voting.  However, the people we vote for are in no way bound to do the things they say they will do.  In fact, they can do the exact opposite, and our only recourse comes years later in the form of another election.

One could argue that on the local level we have more control through political participation.  I would tend to agree with this, but I also recognize that this isn’t saying much, as I just pointed out how we have virtually no control over the higher levels of government, so saying you have more control over none isn’t exactly saying much.

Involuntary hierarchies are still a major part of our lives.  Some of this is necessary, such as in the case of raising children, but the vast majority of these hierarchies are not only unnecessary, but counterproductive to achieving the ends that we are seeking to achieve.

Voluntary Hierarchies

I have made a couple posts in my series, “Understanding Phish”, where I have written about my passion for the band from Vermont.  In high school, I became the resident expert on the band.  I had an unseenly collection of their music, a deep understanding of their songs and playing style, and a thorough grasp of their background.

It didn’t take long before some of my friends started showing an interest.  They knew that I had knowledge that they lacked, so they decided it would be wise to accept the fact that I was a leader in the field, in order to expedite their understanding of it all.  They voluntarily allowed me to pick shows for them to listen to.  They also listened to the knowledge I possessed and added it to their own base of knowledge.

Over time, some of these friends became even more passionate about Phish that I was.  A few just went to their 130th show together just about a week ago.  (I am at 32.)  Last time we all got together, it was very clear who the new experts were.  I drooled listening to their tales and insights, and quickly realized that the hierarchy had changed.  They were now above me, and I was totally cool with this, as they had clearly earned this role.

This example demonstrates an aspect of hierarchies that we all overlook.  They exist not only in the obvious scenarios, like at our jobs, but they exist in every aspect of our social lives as well.  

Even so, let’s take a look at another example.  It’s abundantly clear, that humans are very different and possess many different characteristics and skill sets.  Some people are taller, some shorter.  Some are fatter, some are skinnier.  Some can run quicker, do math more efficiently, and so on.

Let’s take a look at a football team.  The quarterback is more often than not, the leader of the team.  He calls the plays, reads the defense before the snap, makes any adjustments to the play that he deems necessary, and then executes the play.

There are many other players on the field that assist the quarterback in this process, and each one of them has a specialized role.  The center snaps the ball, the guards help the center protect the middle after the snap, the tackles protect the quarterback’s blindside, etc.

The coaches tell the quarterback what to do, the general manager tells the coach who to play, the owner tells the general manager what he can spend.  Each part of the chain listens to what the person above them says, in order to maximize the potential of their team.  If football teams abandoned this concept, and the players decided to change positions every play, then decided that they would just “figure it out” after the snap, I’m pretty sure they would go down as the least efficient team in football history.

Notice how in the two examples I provided, no force was necessary, and all of the participants actually benefited from the process.  Let’s take it one step further and look at a more relatable example.

Work

Most of us work for a living.  We have bosses, they have bosses, and we all listen to the people above us.  Our jobs are completely voluntary, as we are free to leave at any time, if we are not happy with this arrangement.  We are even free to start a new business that abandons the idea of a hierarchy completely.  Many are unhappy about this paradigm, and rather than blazing a new path for others to follow, they put down the very voluntary hierarchical system through which much of our world thrives.

This is incredibly short sighted.  Let’s imagine that Nicola Tesla was alive and in his prime, inventing away.  He would have people under him, helping his brilliant mind bring his ideas into the real world.  If this hierarchy weren’t in place, and they were all treated as equals, despite Tesla’s qualifications, the team would be far less productive.  We need brilliant people to lead others who lack the knowledge and skills, just like the brilliant people need these people to help them get stuff done.

Wealth

Some people have more capital than others.  Some were born into it, others acquired it through suspicious actions.  However, a lot of people have earned this money because they have specific skills and knowledge that others don’t, and they put those traits to work, while reaping the benefits.

This is simply supply and demand in action.  Not everyone can be Steve Jobs, Richard Branson, or Elon Musk.  Some people are just very rare, and thus very valuable.  If everyone were like them, then there would be no need for hierarchies, as we would just be a bland homogeneous blend of humanity.  But of course, this is not the case in the real world.

There is no reason to be jealous of those who earn more than you, it should just give you more motivation to better yourself.  There is also no reason to despise hierarchies, as hierarchies have yielded just about everything of value in the world today, thanks to people like these.

Anarchy

In an anarcho-capitalist society, you are completely free to despise hierarchies, and even start a community of like-minded people.  You can arrange your project however you would like, so long as no one is compelled through force in the process.  This model may fail, but it may also thrive and draw more people to it.  That’s phenomenal!  It’s the market in action, and if your ideas are the best, and other people see this, then you will “win”.

In an anarcho-communist society, you are not free to establish and work within hierarchies.  This goes against the philosophy, as the both means and ends of production are shared.  There is no room in this society for people who dissent.  In doing this, they have ironically established a hierarchy of people who disallow others from creating hierarchies.  It’s pretty strange, to be honest.

If they allow hierarchies, they then would be opening up a market of competition, and thus would not be anarcho-communists, but would rather be anarcho-capitalists who favored anarcho-communist ideals.

I have nothing against people who despise all forms of hierarchy.  People are free to think and believe whatever they would like, and I defend your right to disagree with me.  However, I view this position as being illogical and not grounded in reality.

Hierarchies can certainly be negative, especially when consent is removed from the equation, but voluntary hierarchies are natural, emergent, and a key part of our very nature.

Feel free to comment below with your thoughts.


-@derekareith

Sort:  

With psychological manipulation you can make people to want to do things they normally wouldn't want to do. They think they are doing it voluntarily. Highly charismatic and often narcissistic people do this. These personalities are very often found in people that are leaders with great power and they are also wealthy.

While this certainly may be true, I believe it's a fringe example, at best. Ultimately, people are responsible for themselves, and should probably work on their psychological issues before blaming a hierarchical system for their woes. If people are taking advantage of you, take control of yourself, and get out of that situation. Anyone can do this.

You have anarchist communism wrong you are free to establish hierarchies people just don't have to follow them and are not forced.....in communism the only requirement is to gain everything you make....in an anarcho capitalist society you may start a business but you will have to follow the larger ones in most ways for example ones that rate your business....to have a successful startup you will likely have to go to one of those for help and follow the rules..... you break them you get money taken away as punishment..... is that not hierarchy?

"What distinguishes anarchist communism from other variants of libertarian communism is the formers opposition to all forms of political power, hierarchy and domination"
https://libcom.org/thought/anarchist-communism-an-introduction

I'm sorry and I really don't intend to sound offensive, but I'm not sure if you understand how markets work either. If I start a business, all I care about is my customers. Other businesses in my field will want my customers, but that doesn't matter to my business as I just need to provide a product or service that people will like. If they like it, I will stay open and maybe even grow, if they don't then I will either adapt or go out of business. If my competition is doing a vastly better job than me, then perhaps they have assets I lack, like a more talented staff. If I lose to a business that is doing better than me, that is solely due to the decisions of my would-be customers. Their voluntary choices on where to spend their money determine the hierarchy, thus encouraging good businesses over poorly run ones.

Let's say I open a lemonade stand. I have a neighbor work for me for $5 a day and help sell my lemonade for $1 a glass. The girls in town see what I'm doing and start their own stand selling lemonade with fresh lemons for $1.5 a glass. They do better since I only am selling the powder mix variety, and the people in town favor the fresh lemonade. I can sit there for a while, but eventually I will be losing money as I need to pay my employee. I can make a new lemonade recipe, drop my price, let my employee go, or simply give up the lemonade business and try something different. Maybe people would like fruit punch. Maybe the competition will lead to more options for the consumers and enhance the entire town in the process.

This hierarchy isn't bad, it's how we figure out what people want, and deliver it to them in the way they desire.

The larger businesses will create a market that will make it so people can easily validate if it is good/true on their word etc without that I can imagine the business will not do well.

BTW, I appreciate you engaging on this topic. I read some of your posts and I know that we agree on far more than we disagree on. :)

For money you must follow the will of the masses.....and remember just because a slave can choose his master makes him no less a slave

Yes, these independent regulators would certainly exist. Consumers often may not care though. With my lemonade stand example, I doubt a single customer would expect to see a health inspection report next to my pitcher of lemonade. I know when I go to my local farmers I don't demand to see that they were "validated" before I buy from them. Just like everything I'm talking about here, the customers will ultimately determine the demand for such a service. They are the ones who would shape the economy by directing their money towards services and goods that they want.

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67494.82
ETH 2610.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72