Anarchists Unite: How Steemit Will Bring About a Free Society

in #anarchism8 years ago

With the massive influx on anarchist thought leaders popping up on Steemit, a thought occurred to me.

As an anarchist myself, I couldn't be happier to see the likes of Larken Rose, Jeff Berwick, and Rick Falkvinge join us.  I was ecstatic about their content while also being able to financially support them to some degree with my upvotes.  What I realized soon after, blew my mind.

Anarchists support other anarchists, anarchists gain steem power, our voices get more prominent, our message less distorted, leading ultimately to a sort of takeover of people's political perspectives.  Seem crazy?  Just think it through a little bit more.

Let's use Larken Rose as an example.  Every time Larken posts, assuming the content will be as quality as ever, I will upvote him.  Many other anarchists on here will follow the same pattern.  Larken will become a whale and will support other anarchists on the platform.  They will get more Steem Power, so when they support Larken over time, they will begin to push more and more Steem Power to him.

It creates a snowball effect, where in the end, anarchists will be uniquely positioned to become the loudest voices on politics, even after the masses start to join.  Oh, what's that?  A NYT writer joins Steemit and makes a hit piece on freedom?  Well, good luck, because we will have an army of like-minded people who will be better organized and have a legitimate mission to push anarchist material to the top of trending.

Statists will get support as well, but will it be as continuous and unrelenting as the anarchists who have never had any time in the spotlight on any social medium ever before?  I doubt it.  They just won't have the same motivation as we will.  Plus, we will have a massive jump start on Steem Power accumulation.

Some day, Steemit will give us anarchists a chance to have a platform to discuss and share our ideas to millions of people who have never even heard of them.  This is the first time in the history of politics that this has been the case, as we have always been viewed as fringe outliers, not worth the time, to most people.  We may have many followers on Twitter, but we almost see an echo chamber effect as Statists almost never follow anarchists.

This changes everything for Anarchism, and we now have a tool to advance our philosophy that we have never had in our tool box before.  So get out there and get all of your anarchist friends to join, support and engage with anarchist content, because we have a chance to do something very special with Steemit:

Change the world!

@derekareith

Sort:  

I see this movement taking over... yet I know so little about it.

I'm very curious what it's all about. Don't get me wrong... I have heard the term anarchy and seen movies with the idea promoted. I do believe it's all misinformation anyways so i'm curious as to what your motives are and what the true definition of "Anarchy" is in regards to your movement.

I believe that these posts will best sum it all up -
Here's how I became an Anarchist:
https://steemit.com/anarchism/@derekareith/how-i-became-an-anarchist

It wasn't easy by any stretch.
I also just posted an outline of my perspective to flush it out a little further:
https://steemit.com/anarchism/@derekareith/so-you-re-seeing-a-lot-of-anarchist-posts-but-you-re-not-anarchist-wtf-is-going-on

I believe that it is certainly a road worth going down, and I really commend you on showing curiosity on this topic. You have no idea how many people emotionally block me out before even thinking about these things. While it's certainly understandable given how radically different these views are, I believe that it's also indicative of a problem on their end when they can't set their emotions aside to hear out new and different ideas before rejecting them.

I keep an open mind to any alternative pov actually in general. I will admit, my initial reaction might seem like I'm in shock or offended but I quickly put that away and consider whatever is brought to my attention.

I say this because I was raised in a strict christian religion, apostolic somewhat close to Pentecostal. I watched family and members of the church go thru some extreme experiences and of course my own. I never understood the need for them to control and justify the way they acted.

I can't stand shxx like that.. it bugs me. I will always be very open minded and willing to listen to anything and everything somebody wants to show me. Hope that doesn't change when I'm an older wiser man.

Right on, Wally. It's way too easy to get stuck in our ways as we age. I wish more people had your attitude.

Optimism is great, and a combination of using facebook and other networks should give an already swelling decentralized network a leg up! Many more are coming.

YES! This is why I joined Steemit. Posting on Facebook doesn't get me anywhere... I don't have to be a closet Anarchist anymore!

Good ideas don't require force

Property rights is a good idea. It requires force.

I actually am going to work on a post breaking this down. I'll post the link here when I am done. I am working straight through today and tomorrow though, so it likely won't be done until Thursday. I hope it will shed some light on property rights.

You can also look at my most recent post in the meantime, which flushes out property a little bit:
https://steemit.com/anarchism/@derekareith/so-you-re-seeing-a-lot-of-anarchist-posts-but-you-re-not-anarchist-wtf-is-going-on

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60627.10
ETH 2662.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44