How to Be a Libertarian (It's Simple, but That doesn't Mean It's Easy!)

in #anarchism7 years ago

image001-e1353941096869.jpg

Let's cut right to the point, shall we?

Libertarianism, despite what many may claim otherwise, consists of TWO principles:

  1. Private property rights
  2. The Zero Aggression principle. (also known as the Non-Aggression Principle or Axiom)

It really is that simple.

These two principles have been stated many different ways over the course of history.

"Do unto others as you would have them do unto you" as taught by Christ.

"Do not aggress against another or their property, and do all you have agreed to do" from Old Anglo-Saxon Common Law (before law was hijacked by the State)

The hard part comes when one tries to apply these principles consistently across all areas of their life (believe me, I know!).

This requires the individual to be honest with themselves and to always seek knowledge, understanding, wisdom and, most importantly, truth.

Not only is this difficult, but it can also be painful, as it may require you to abandon previously held beliefs, which were an intimate part of your identity.

As I go about laying out the principles, understand that I'm aware of how difficult it is to apply these axioms, especially given the Statist culture we inhabit.

I value simplicity over long-winded philosophical banter, so I will do my best to explain what I consider the consistent Libertarian position in as a concise manner as possible in following posts.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Interesting read and the simplicity of your post inspires me! Do you believe in these principles today? Or does the current injustice of the world make them ethically wrong? I’m just thinking of a simple though experiment: Is it wrong to steal from people with plenty to survive?

Thanks for the comment!

Yes, I do believe in and abide by these principles today.

I would be wrong to steal from another individual. That would be an aggression upon their property.

I'll be going into more detail later on. :)

I'm curious to see you defend that position so I followed you! For me it seems like in todays society this leads to property being valued higher than people in alot of cases? Is that also something you believe is good or do we loose eachother in between these statements? I'll keep an eye out if you just want to reply with your next story, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70