You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Cancel Your Voter Registration

in #anarchism8 years ago

Great post. One thing did come to my mind and that is the fact that voter registrations are commonly used to select people for jury duty. I consider jury duty to be highly important and, as a Voluntaryist, it's probably one of the biggest ways I can make an impact by refusing to convict on a victimless crime.

I just did the research for my state (Minnesota) and it looks like the potential jurors come from a combined list of voter registrations, Drivers Licenses, and state ID's, with duplicates being removed. It looks like four states do pick their jurors entirely from voter registrations - which is something to consider when choosing to completely cancel.

Sort:  

That was going to be my response. For most states, they pull from other outlets. That said, thanks for actually looking it up; that was what led me to write this article months back: http://www.libertyunderattack.com/cancelling-voter-registration-removal-jury-rolls/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64