Christianity and Anarchism may be more related than many would care to believe!!!!

in #anarchism8 years ago (edited)

So.... as posted in the title, I feel you know it's all too clear what this post is about. Touchy subjects, but ones in which I believe deserve to be discussed.... Where to begin....

I guess it all started when I had some deep conversations regarding these topics with a good friend of mine on here, @derekareith. (If you are not already aware of him and his amazingly astute sense of philosophy and strong opinions on all manners of topics, I highly recommend you check him out! He has opened my eyes on many different matters, this one being possibly the biggest and most relevant one to my life.)
So, I was on here surfing through different posts, as I often do because I'm always looking to learn something from those whom I hold in high esteem. Derek is a good coworker and a good friend so naturally I made the conscious decision to check out any recent posts I may have missed. And I came upon his posts regarding Anarchism. I was blown away by how similar the basic fundamentals of Anarchism were to my own lifestyle and the way I conduct myself in everyday life, mainly based around my non-traditional form of Christianity in which I practice.

Now, before this mental revelation, I never would have grouped Christianity and Anarchism into the same boat, but if the shoe fits....
Let me explain....
In the Bible, there are many examples in the New Testament, during Christ's life, about His different teachings, mostly of the "moral values" variety. If you read and look closely, you'll notice that His teachings base around the premise that the humans willing to listen were seeking a sense of living in true freedom as they pleased so long as they held onto a morally correct set of personal convictions, as Anarchism constantly teaches. Therefore, though it may not be 100% certain to conclude as of yet, it is entirely possible for one to believe that Jesus Himself may have been teaching moral values to be applied to life based on basic fundamentals of Anarchic views. Could it be possible that Jesus Christ was one of the first recorded Anarchists, at least in a more basic form? You be the judge. Again, I can't say for sure, as I am only speculating.... but it really does make so much sense to me from a logical standpoint.

Now, bear with me for referring to the Bible.... believe me, I am perfectly aware that it was written by man, and rewritten, and re-translated, and so on and so forth, for so long that there's no sure-fire way to tell what was originally in it, or what was added in or taken out, etc., but I think that there are still some valid and relevant moral values to be seen, had and applied to life that come from it, especially in the New Testament. Yes, I'm a Christian, but I do not associate myself with the "modern-day Christians" that you see everywhere.... you know, the ones who judge everyone and try to profess how others should live, when they themselves live self-righteous and hypocritical lives. That's why I have lately referred to myself as a "non-traditional Christian", so that a gateway may be open for me to explain where I stand. I do believe in the Christian God, and I do believe that Christ was the Son of God, the human incarnation of God, whatever you choose to call it, but I do not attend church, as I believe worship can and should take place anywhere and anyhow, so long as it's made to happen for you and you alone (I believe worship should be a private and intimate thing, not necessarily for the convenience of others, but more for the more intense experience for one's self). Also, again to reiterate, I do not always agree with or blindly accept EVERYTHING in the Bible, as it was written and also, unfortunately, manipulated, distorted and destroyed by humans who only sought to serve their own means to an end, and to justify their own selfish actions (especially in the Old Testament where there were many despicable things people did that were supposedly endorsed by God Himself, making Him out to seem like an evil God.... which I do not believe is the case. I believe shitty people of that time just did shitty things, then pinned God's name on it, or "did it in the name of God" simply to justify their actions or alleviate the responsibility of said actions).

But I digress....
My main point of all this is to show that there are in fact some connections between the basic and morally sound fundamentals of the Christian faith and those of the Anarchist's. So, as of mere days ago, I began identifying as a Christian Anarchist. I know it would potentially sound insane to someone who doesn't fully understand the real concept of Anarchism, as most don't because their minds have been distorted by our government into thinking it means disorder and chaos, when in the reality we are LIVING in such under the type of government we already are living in.... but to me, and I'm sure to many others, especially on here ( @derekareith and @dwinblood for example), it makes at least some sense. I respect those who disagree with me on this matter, as that is the main reason we are all on here, to offer our two cents, but in the grand scheme of things, the theory that these two seemingly different viewpoints are actually very similar is almost undeniable to me. So therefore, I'm rolling with it.... because I have to say, it has served me very well so far, and ultimately it has given me a much stronger sense of inner peace and a profound appreciation for this beautiful thing all humans have known as the mind. It allows us to explore and learn so many fascinating and new intellectual territories that can't quite be matched to our level by almost any other creature on earth. It's just such a refreshing breath of proverbial air.

So anyway....
I want to thank those who chose to read this, and I want to personally thank @derekareith for helping me to open up my perception a bit more and explore some new mental territory. It has made me grow in my appreciation for my life and the natural beauty that surrounds it. Thanks again for reading! I am now tired, delirious and beat from today's double shift, so on that note.... I take my leave to bed.
Good night, Steemit community.
Stay metal. \m/

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62854.40
ETH 2463.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65