You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Parenting for Voluntaryists

in #anarchism8 years ago

This is a fascinating topic for me too - precisely because I don't think the answers are easy. I've found that the RIE approach to caregiving is a close fit with the ideas of voluntaryism, you might find that interesting too. I wrote a short introduction here: https://steemit.com/peaceful/@bitbutter/less-stressful-more-respectful-rie-caregiving

Sort:  

Thanks! Ive never heard of RIE parenting. It definitely seems like a reasonable approach, especially when dealing with infants and toddlers. In 13 years of parenting, I've found that communicating your intentions and reasons helps children to understand the world.

I know a lot of parents get impatient with the repetitive "Why?" question, but we have to remember that children lack common knowledge until we give it to them. Asking "Why?" and following us around everywhere is how they learn.

Yes. Totally agree about the 'why', so important!

I just saw that you're the creator of "George Ought to Help". That's awesome! I love those videos. Your analogies are spot on.

Thanks very much! Glad you like them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35