You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Impossible! A conversation with a statist about starting a business

in #anarchism8 years ago

Great post! Was it partially inspired by my post about Ayn Rand?

It's always frustrating to hear that argument against anarchism - that since we can't know everything about the future, it's not worth the risk to try. If statists had been able to know the future of the state, they would have never agreed to statism. Oh, wait...they did know what states become and they still agreed to it - and still currently support it! Their opinions about and objections to anarchism are worthless.

Sort:  

Yes, I definitely had Rand's arguments brought to the front of my mind because of your post. Also, my friend just posted a video of Rand today on Facebook. You know something funny - feminists in anglophonic countries would never be caught dead reading Rand, but many feminists in other countries seem to love her.

If statists had been able to know the future of the state, they would have never agreed to statism.

Hahah. If they fully understood the implications, probably.

Yeah. That's true about feminists here in the US.

And I realized after I posted my comment that many statists would still agree to statism, even if they knew the consequences. So, I guess I'm wrong about that.

Well, I hope they wouldn't. Time will tell.

why does a certain group of feminists dislike Rand?

I don't know exactly. Certain people describe her as a "right-wing bitch". That probably has something to do with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66975.17
ETH 2594.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67