You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding What We Can't See - Conspiracy, "Debunking", and Absence of Evidence - Part One (Updated and ReSteemed)

in #analysis7 years ago

Yw, and thanks too!

I think you make the main point to be aware of; that my brain wants to build patterns and structures for effective recall, prediction, and energy economy. Although basically, if I can maintain some degree of awareness of this as I encounter / interpret data, I can begin to notice my leanings or tendencies, and hopefully control them rather than be governed by them.

Sort:  

brain wants to build patterns and structures for effective recall, prediction, and energy economy

= heuristics

cognitive biases are just heuristics gone bad

I can begin to notice my leanings or tendencies, and hopefully control them rather than be governed by them.

it's a nice goal, aint it? I do find myself occasionally getting riled over click-bait

"Heuristics gone bad." Interesting, will have to reflect on that way of phrasing the idea.

It certainly is in the state of still being a goal, lol! That's one reason I chose the word "begin," and spoke in the 1st person! I understand about click bait too. Seems the old lizard brain still has a warm spot for trolls...

perfect video follows...;>

most of these videos this guy puts out are very interesting

"Depending on which thought germs live in your head and which you fight for, the next section might sound horrifying!"

It is a perfect video for this discussion indeed, exactly what we're speaking of.

I will have to let this concise yet expanded version of this idea sink in. All I could think of as I watched was Israel / Palestine, and my own past methods or choices of words or data to supply, when presenting or defending my views, or opposing those of others...

Thanks for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51