Just take my money!

in #amsterdam8 years ago (edited)
IMG_20170117_171849

Just Take My Money!

I


have money now, but because I am in this backwards Godforsaken Amsterdam, there is nowhere I can easily buy bitcoins. I am actually wanting to buy Steem, to be more precise, but usually that requires bitcoin.

I figured that they might not be correct ads in localbitcoins, when I found some that I knew from 3 years ago, one at a cafee in Zeedijk in the centre of the city near the red light district, and another at Amsterdam University near the Science faculty, in a funny little cafe called Polder.

Here is Cafe Polder now:

IMG_20170117_151043

The sandy area used to have a building, if I remember correctly it was sorta like one of those half cylinder aircraft hanger looking things. There was a two way BitX bitcoin ATM just inside the door, it would have been just middle right of the frame.

I could have sworn it was normally open but the cafe on Zeedijk also was closed, looked like for renovations. I hadn't been in there since 2014 when first was looking to sell bitcoins - and that one was only buy bitcoins. Which is what I didn't want then but I want now.

I am going to look at finding a seller of bitcoins on localbitcoins. I found one ad that looks okay so hopefully this won't be too irritating. In Bulgaria I could buy them using a bill paying machine that you could find in every shopping center of note, and there was a BitX ATM inside a cafe in the centre of town. I am not used to this level of inconvenience.

Sell your Steem to @l0k1

If anyone is looking to sell some Steem for cash in the Netherlands, I can deposit it direct into a bank account to pay or if you happen to be around Amsterdam we could meet perhaps. Otherwise I will see how I go with localbitcoins, and sell my btc for steems.

By way of explanation,I am still waiting to confirm I have a postal address. The bank issues logins and password in letters sent in the post. Without that, no internet bank, no IDEAL and yes I think I can do a domestic or SEPA transfer in any bank.

An expensive option is to get a Travelex prepaid credit card thingy. Or maybe I could do SEPA transfer to my bulgarian mastercard debit and with hat buy something else...

Frickin Bureaucracy. In this case the bank is nearly as bad as the government.

Update

I am enquiring with the Bitcoin Embassy, the site seems to say they have a two-way ATM. I will update about this if I am able to go this way.

😎

We can't stop here! This is Whale country!

Sort:  

At first I thought you were trying to sell STEEM to acquire bitcoins. I would've offered you 15 cents p/STEEM. But, now I see you're trying to buy and not sell. Good move.

I would like it better to go direct. No tx fees and hours waiting for a transfer 😎

I can sell STEEM but won't be there until late April 2017. Having some AMS cash may be handy.

You have cash, but you need bitcoins? Am I right?

Yes, or Steem, whichever. I will buy steem with the bitcoin if I get bitcoin.

I also buy steem with the bitcoins sometimes.

The android STEEM wallet from @freewallet had an option to buy STEEM with a credit card. Still waiting on a bank account here to try it. Their price now is $100 for 519.386 STEEM. No idea if that is a good deal.

[EDIT] Just to note that one week after I wrote this comment, both the STEEM and the ETH Freewallets I have are failing to allow me to transfer funds out. Five days, and no resolution.

That's something like $0.1925 / Steem... %18.5 (give or take) above the rest of the market.

Hmm. Would anything be saved going direct $-->STEEM? To offset this.

Aren't Bitcoin ATMs supposed to be everywhere in Amsterdamnit?

It used to be. Now, nix.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33