First time in Amstrerdam

in #amsterdam6 years ago

DSC02257-1.jpg

In January I was lucky enough that my amazing wife booked a few days away to Amsterdam for my birthday. Doing what I do for a living, this time of the year is usually time spent in front of the PC editing away and I'd been doing this for the last couple of months, so I was grateful for the break.

I hadn't been to Amsterdam before so obviously I was expecting a city of people chasing drugs and sex. These are the experiences I'd heard of from various people. Most of these people, however, are big smokers or were there on a stag party. I hadn't really researched the place, nor did I have time to before we left.

Amsterdam is, in fact, full of fascinating history, culture and really wonderful architecture. I found it to be a very inspiring city for so many reasons. Oh and for anyone planning to visit for the first time - take some good walking boots. The streets are cobbled and uneven and there's a lot of walking to be done if you really want to experience this beautiful city. Also watch out for bikes...insane! They rule the roads there, you have a better chance of cars stopping for you.

So above is a shot I took of one of the canals. There are 165 of them and in total measure around 60 miles (100km) - that's a lot of canal.

(In case you're wondering, my go to camera for travelling is the Sony A7S, which is what this was shot on. I usually pair it with my Canon 24-105 lens and I'm pretty much ready to photograph and film on the go anytime. You only get 12 megapixels but it's a nice compact setup with a lot of flexibility - full frame sensor with the option to crop which allows a bigger focal range from just one lens).

Sort:  

Its such a beautiful city !

It is indeed! Thanks for my first comment! Appreciate it :)

Amsterdam is great!

Great colour and framing! Love this picture
!

Thank you

I knew someone once on the Internet who lived in Amsterdam. He also rearranged my conceptions. It is a very beautiful city with so many layers. I'm glad you found the real Amsterdam.

Oh believe me, so am I. I'm hoping to return soon as I departed with so many places left to explore.

I'm fairly sure you could move there and never explore it all!

Even if you are limited to quick trips, you have my deep envy all the same

Looking forward to more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88