WFWP Brand Ambassador

in #amputee7 years ago

My name is Joey Kokomo I am a 57 year old double amputee veteran. I served from 1979- 1982 on The USS Proteus AS19. I was able to travel the world and visit many awesome locations. I was medically discharged from the military in 1982, I then began to work as a bar manager and then my life changed with my first amputation on my left leg.
4CBD90B0-F392-4CE3-A5BC-C14A2CA55EC9.jpeg
On July 2017 I was placed in a position to have my right leg amputated due to injuries which where incurable. I then became homeless just two months after losing my second leg. I was placed on the street by the rehabilitation home I was placed in, Modesto CA.
394EC32B-9612-48A9-B6F0-20CE7CA0CCFC.jpeg
I was later picked up and decided to move to Las Vegas, NV. I was helped through the VA system by my Chapter President Juanton and Vice President Keith. We then began my new journey by visiting the VA hospital, retrieving my ID which was lost by the hospital in Modesto CA, and now we are working on finding me a stable housing.
36BB5670-FBB5-468F-A0FD-13AE5F314D07.jpeg
Through these last 5 months I have also had plenty of medical problem the biggest one is the one I was just faced with. My second open heart surgery. I was given the option to have the surgery to clear my blockages or not make it another 6 months. So it was a no brainer I had the surgery. I am now am recovering and still in the process of finding housing with the help of my Vice President and President.
B656F357-37D9-4C1E-8C88-94E8D856EE63.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you for your service. I am so proud to see veterans using medicinal marijuana to treat their issues as opposed to getting hooked on prescription meds.

That is our goal the meds are killing us slowly and we as veterans have had enough

Thank you, sir, for your services in the military. I hope your future stories are happier ones, it’s appalling to know a military veteran is discarded so easily in the country he would die for. God bless you, sir.

Thank you let’s help bring awareness to this issue we fight today

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat most of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49