Osseointegration for amputees

in #amputee7 years ago

Hey I lost my left leg over 2 years ago and after getting fitted with a socket, realised sockets chafe, sweat and generally suck. I then had the osseointegration operation done in Germany over a year ago and have never looked back. I highly recommend it for amputees wanting to be active and comfortable again.

The osseo op is when a titanium rod is screwed into your remaining femur so that a prosthetic can be attached and released within seconds.


Sort:  

Hey there @dominator! I had an amputation in February, and I have certainly had my fair share of issues when it comes to my socket. I came across an article that explained what Osseointegration is, and I have been looking into whether or not it would be a good choice for me. Everything that I have heard points to it being. Did you have to self-pay or did your insurance cover it?

Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44