It's Monday!!! Rage & 1984

in #ampublishing6 years ago


It's baaack! I'm not sure why I stopped doing these posts, but I've decided to bring them back. Like my other posts, I can't promise I'll post one every week. Honestly, some weeks, I don't have time to finish a whole book, but I'll post one whenever I do. For those of you who are new here, It's Monday posts deal with the books I'm currently reading.

Last week's book should probably start with a...


Trigger Warning. Last week's book involves a school shooting.

Last week's book was "Rage", by Richard Bachman, AKA Stephen King.


I wish I could have found a better copy of the cover, but I couldn't for the same reason I wanted to re-read it.

I read this once back in high school. It was okay, but I didn't really think about it too much. It wasn't until I heard that it was out of print indefinitely due to subject matter that I wanted to check it out again. What can I say? I'm a rebel.

"Rage" is about a bright high school student who was on his way to an institution for attacking a teacher with a pipe wrench for bullying him . On his last day of regular school, he shoots his teacher and one other member of the faculty then takes his classroom hostage.

The funny thing is, other than the fairly violent first few chapters, most of the book is fairly tame. The shooting/hostage situation is just the backdrop for the real story. Before long, the students find themselves sharing their deepest, darkest secrets. Most of the stories relate to how messed up they all are because or their parents. Soon, the students are bonding and discovering they aren't all as different as they had thought.

It's "The Breakfast Club" meets "Lord Of The Flies"

I'd love to drop you a link, but as I said, it's out of print indefinitely. I'm sure if you looked hard enough, you could find a copy in your local used bookstore though.

This week's read is "1984" by George Orwell.


Again, I read this back in high school. The only thing is, back then, in the optimistic mid-90's it read as a cautionary tale, but one that, in my youthful estimation, could never come true. It's a much more frightening read these days.

An honorable mention goes to "Ash & Quill" by Rachel Caine.


I don't know why I've had such a hard time getting through this one. I read the first two just fine, but I've been slowly slogging through this one for months now. It doesn't really have anything to do with the book itself although some parts are very slow. It's just that there are a lot of other books on my TBR list that I'm much more excited to read.

Ash & Quill is the continuing saga of a group of students from the Library of Alexandria (which never burned down in this timeline) who are trying to save the library from itself. This is the third in the series following "Ink & Bone" and "Paper & Fire". Again, there is nothing wrong with the books, I've just been wanting to read other ones lately. I'd better finish this one soon though, as "Smoke & Iron", number four in the series, is already waiting for me.

Please visit my website www.justinmkelly.com



Posted from my blog JustinMKelly.com/blogSteemPress : http://www.justinmkelly.com/blog/its-monday/its-monday-rage-1984/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99