Dear Culture, WTF?!

in #amp30836 years ago

I click on a YouTube video that popped up in my feed. After watching it, I check out the uploader's channel -- a trans-female whose content includes vlogging, make-up and basically just talking about random stuff in front of the camera. This YouTuber has half a million subs and currently has 11 uploaded videos. Meanwhile, I've been running my own YT channel since 2013, with nearly 2,000 uploaded videos and have only 42,000+ subscribers.

Did I pick the least attractive content for the culture, or what? What's going on here? I'm trying to wake people up by promoting philosophy, spirituality and freedom. Yet, many of the videos that get a ton of views are of people telling casual stories, putting on make-up and eating food in front of the camera. I should've picked a content that the masses would've flocked to in a second, like cats playing a goddamn piano. Unbelievable!

"No one fuckin' knows me. No one gives a fuck. Meanwhile, they’re draining the Pacific and putting up bench seats for Carrot Top's next Showtime special. Carrot Top -- for people who didn’t get Gallagher. ... I could've been the young Gallagher in diapers, walkin' around being a millionaire franchising myself. But no, I had to have this weird thing about trying to illuminate the collective unconscious and help humanity. Fuckin' moron!"

- Bill Hicks

Sort:  

I've been following Youtube since its inception. There is no correlation between quality of the content and subscription count.

People subscribe to channels for political reasons.

Well edited videos with quality original content do not get high subscription counts. Subscription count is the worst possible metric for determining the quality of content.

To make matters worse. There are freaky things that go on with the Google Algorithm that determines which videos pop up in feeds.

I don't think the problems at Youtube are related to culture alone. The google algorithms used by the site make things worse.

Good point.

Abso-friggin-lutely. The thing with culture is that it’s really easy to win because the rules are known. What to wear, what to say, what music to like, what shows to watch - it’s all laid out. You could put up inane videos and get half a million subscribers too, but then what’s the point?

The whole reason you want a ton of views is because you want to do The Great Work and spread enlightenment. Unless you package it to look like culture, it’s nigh unto impossible. If they get a whiff of true insight or morality, they’ll run for the hills.

People have accepted their programming and have low self-worth. They seek appeasement via popular acceptance. It’s wholly unjust that some buffoon has way more subs.

In my opinion, this battle is already lost. I do not believe mankind can be awakened without passing through the ring of fire and all but destroying itself. I’m talking slavery, death and horror on an overt, massive scale. The only reason I keep trying is in case I’m wrong about that.

Even if there’s only a 0.00001% chance, I will be amongst those who bear the cross, and lose all in the effort, if need be. I could not respect myself if I just sought out fun and material comfort for the rest of my life while being in possession of the information mankind needs to be free. Not do I respect others who slither along that path.

But I respect you highly for your efforts, so keep fighting until they thrust the spear in your side for trying to save them. Those fuckers don’t deserve it, but there are many who do, and amongst them is Truth itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85