Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 77



Source

I realized tonight that I think I've got my forearm tendonitis under control... it, ah, only took two years.

Tuesday I did a heap of pull ups and stuff, Wednesday I did a brutal ninja class and tonight I did another heap of pull ups... all without issue.

I'm sure it was only a month or so ago where I pretty much had to take a 2 day break from anything upper body after a ninja class.



Source

So that's exciting... I've had to keep a lid on my enthusiasm for training for so long... but I feel like maybe I can start to make small increases day by day and week by week until I start to become truly awesome at obstacles. There's so much to learn, and I need to be so much stronger to compete at any decent level, so this realization was really, really, really, really exciting. Really.



Source

Really.

Eventually I think I'll start to taper down my tendonitis strengthening exercises, but I'll keep going for a few weeks to make sure I really do have it under control... then I can start to spend my time doing harder things.

I'll create a post at some point about Tendonitis, and the various different methods to approach it. Overuse injuries are hard, but at least now I feel like I have some experience on the resolution side, instead of purely the affliction side.



Overuse injuries require strengthening and load balancing. It's super tough to work through, and consistency is key.




Titan Games Trial Test

  • 2 minutes jump rope
  • 5 pull ups, 5 push ups
    4 pull ups, 4 push ups
    3 pull ups, 3 push ups
    2 pull ups, 2 push ups
    1 pull ups, 1 push ups
  • 45 seconds plank


Tendonitis Strengthening

  • 5 sets of 6 reps of slow pull ups
  • 5 sets of 6 reps of slow push ups
  • 5 sets of 6 reps of slow tricep dips
  • 5 sets of 6 reps of squishy ball squishin'
  • 5 sets of 6 reps of wrist extensions
  • 5 sets of 10 reps of atomix ball grasping
  • 5 sets of 10 reps of bar catching
  • 5 sets of 40 second double hand lockoffs




Hands and forearms were real rough from Ninja Class, but I worked though it.



Yoga sessions (0/2 Completed)




100 Rep Challenge

  • 32 Titan + 255 Tendonitis Strengthening = 287

@steemmatt's fitness challenge for Tuesday - 287 reps



Titan Games application due date - 14th April
UNAA Regional Qualifier - 5th May - Camp Rhino, Boise, Idaho.

Thanks heaps for reading... super super super appreciate it.


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

Yes consistency is the key. The way you are showing consistency on your training by hardworking. Hopefully you will get favorable result. keep sharing @aussieninja

Hi Kamchore! I really do think I get find favourable results... the consistency of my training has already shown a bit of growth and skill-development, I'm still nowhere near where I want to be, but it doesn't seem so crazy far away now.

Great to hear your tendonitis is under control. I look forward to your future post about Tendonitis and methods to combat it because I have tendonitis elbow

Hello hello!
Yeah, it's really, really excited to start to see some progress with my tendonitis, it's been very limiting and very frustrating. The good thing is, there are a number of strategies you can use to combat it... I'm glad I already know I'll have at least one reader. Thanks!

No problem 😸
Can't wait to read more on it. I love it when I learn new things from Steemit.

Looks like your back in business! Awesome work trying out for the games!

Thanks dude... it's pretty exciting.
I'm away next week for work, but I'm going to start putting together an application next weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63432.48
ETH 3063.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81