Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 42

http___prod.static9.net.au___media_TV_A_Australian-Ninja-Warrior_2017_Ep6_Gallery_ANW_S1_EP6_SEMIFINAL1_ALEXMATTHEWS_154.jpg

Day 42

Ugh!
What a day!

Sometimes when I work in Milwaukee I actually get my flights to Chicago and do the drive. This lets me drive to Chicago on Thursday night, go to a hardcore ninja gym and then stay in the city and fly out first thing Friday.

It's a sweet plan, and one I've enjoyed a heap of times...
This time, however, I was convinced by a friend to head in and visit a new gym on Wednesday night as well as my usual Thursday night sojourn.

I am, easily persuaded by raw enthusiasm, and so today I left work early, drove for 3 hours, trained for 2 and drove back to Milwaukee for 2 hours. Probs no a huge surprise, but no Steemitin' today.

It went well, a couple of little twinges with my neck, but I massaged it out whenever it was unhappy and it was chill man. Tendonitis was not an issue at all which was so very exciting. No flare ups at all. Yeah!!!

I'll put together a video of obstacle funness, and write a review on the gym for @steemitworldmap, so this post is a bit of a quick one to journal day 42.

Today's exercises

Workout
2 hours of ninja play.

Injuries & sore spots

Feeling pretty great to be honest.

Goals for January

  • 20 minutes of stretching every day (inspired by @polebird)
  • At least 2 classes of acroyoga (inspired by @karensuestudios)
  • Hit the top of the 14' 6" wall with both hands (December's was 14")
  • One armed pull up
  • One handed pushup (challenged by @dolladu)
  • 8 foot peg board (challenged by @skiesandsports)
  • 15 minutes of meditation and visualization every day (challenged by @just2random)

Upcoming Events

  • Ninja competition (UNAA) in Portland - 4th Feb
  • American Ninja Warrior Experience in Phoenix - 10th Feb
  • American Ninja Warrior Experience in San Diego - 3rd March

Images provided by Google Image Search of 'Australian Ninja Warrior'.


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png


U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png
steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

i need to be active as you since im trying to get into shape

I'm probably pushing it a little too hard... but I do get super enthusiastic and can't help myself. The secret really is to find something that you really enjoy doing... my ninja classes are literally the highlight of my week so that makes it pretty easy to train for.

Not long until Portland! Keep Stretching! lol

You are the best!
My neck was totally on the mend, and then I smashed it with exercise and now... I don't know.
I've gone backwards a step... but I'm literally stretching it right now so we'll see how it feels tomorrow morning.

Jeez dude that's some serious commitment to get to the gym! I seriously need to look at these blogs and get my arse into gear and head over to a ninja gym! Or just to the climbing wall actually, I have no excuse since I climb there for free in exchange for photography!!

It is much easier when you're freaking out about an event in a couple of weeks... doesn't get much more motivating than that. Do you have a ninja gym nearby? Any comps in the next few months? My motivation gets super low when I'm not scared of doing terribly at an event.

Haha that's a fair point! There are a couple in the north of the UK, but they are still pretty home-made for the most part, even the best in the country are nothing compared to what you have over there! There's some comps down south but it tends to mean a full weekend away so I don't really get a chance to enter them. I know what you mean though, I get the same with my tri training every year when I'm a month or two out from my first comp and - like this year- have ended up making zero time for training!

Wow a lot of work goes into being a ninja!!

Haha, it's not easy being super, super, super enthusiastic!
I haven't even done any comps this season, that's a whole new level of travelling and fun and stress. Last year I travelled for a whole day, had flights delayed, just made it in as the comp was closing as the last person... and went out on the first obstacle. I stepped off a box between obstacles that I wasn't allowed to.... so devo'd. Whole weekend of traveling for 3 seconds of competition.

No I can imagine!! Ah man that sucks! I remember when Chris(@skiesandsports) was on the first time and he fell in, we'd been there for more than 10 hours and he was a stand in so got the call last minute, rushed out the door and he didn't even take a change of clothes so when he fell in he had to drive home in wet clothes!!

Hahaha, this is such a great story because that is exactly what I would have done. When I get excited or in a hurry, I can't think of anything else, I just want to be there!

I'm trying to toss up whether I want to go into the line if I don't get the call. It's a tough one.

Hahaha yeah just like Chris by the sounds of it!

Tough call, I guess just weigh up how you'd feel if you didn't go??

wow that's a great news you are happy with your fitness. All the best for your competition. Hopefully all your hard work will pay back you. All steem family members are with you. Have a nice time:) @aussieninja

Hahaha, I think it will... I definitely think this hard work has already paid off and all I wanted to do is work harder and get better!

Thank you very much @kamchore!

Hope the gym was worth it. A 2 hr drive isn't the worst thing in the world -- although I have no idea what the scenery is like between Chicago and Milwaukee. Great facilities can definitely be worth it. Glad to hear that your neck is feeling better!

I've been meaning to ask -- you sound really into the ANW events. Just curious about what your favorite event may be. That salmon ladder looks like a lot of fun.

It was totally fine.... I loaded up on podcasts and I was good to go. I did suffer heaps from drowsiness though, both days I did this big drive I accidentally woke at 4am... people in hotels love to slam stuff.

There is no scenery, it's totally a straight road for 2 hours, but I really love tackling new obstacles so it's definitely worth it for me. The main loser was my Steem time, but I'm back at it now... right up until our Grand Canyon trip.

There are so many ANW events now. There is Wolfpack that's been in Colorado twice now, this AWNE thing which has it's inaugural event in 4 weeks, the National Ninja League (NNL) which is a stack of competitions around the US and the UNAA (Ultimate Ninja Athletic Association) which also has heaps of comps all around the place. Then single events like Rockford Ninja... and all of these offer prize money now which is pretty exciting.

Then you've got the actual show with all it's qualifiers and finals, etc.

Rockford Ninja in Michigan was probably the most fun I've had at an event... my crew was magic. You only get one shot at the course though. Wolfpack is pretty fun as well... if you're willing to pay, you can have 5 shots at their course, which is really exciting and definitely feels worth the trip. I took a non-ninja friend to the last one, and she still had a great time, even though she'd never watched the show.

To answer your question honestly, I'd have to say that AWNE is shaping up to rocket to 1st place in my list of favourites,.. we'll just have to see how it goes.

The Salmon Ladder is so much fun!
It's definitely scary, but once you get in the groove is stupid fun... I've never seen anyone frown on a Salmon Ladder.

That's so cool! I had no idea there were so many ninja competitions! I always love watching the show... you ninjas are crazy entertaining lol. @mstafford we should try to get to one of the competitions to watch live! How cool would that be?!

It would be so cool! I took a non-ninja friend to the last Wolfpack Ninja Tour in Colorado and she loved it... she'd never even watched the show, so if you have seen it you'll have so much fun!

Hey Mate, see you doing well super Aussie! have you heard of the Spartan warrior thing they got here man?

Hahaha, thanks mate!
I have indeed. I'm pretty keen to watch Spartan Australia... but word on the street is that it's a bit of a schmozzle and Channel 7 rushed it to try and get it on air before Channel 9 airs Australian Ninja Warrior... so we'll see.

Gonna watch it regardless though. Have you done any Spartan races? They're pretty super fun.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by theadz4000 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This looks fascinating! I know plenty of endurance and obstacle course athletes, but not any who do the ninja competitions. I didn't really know that there were gyms specifically aimed at it either. Especially not in my area! (I am in the Chicago area). I followed you so I can watch your training and efforts. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80