Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 41

http___prod.static9.net.au___media_TV_A_Australian-Ninja-Warrior_2017_Ep6_Gallery_ANW_S1_EP6_SEMIFINAL1_RICKOTRALONGO_968.jpg

Day 41

So, ah, this is a bit odd... but my whole weird neck thing moved.
The sore frozen bit was at the base of my neck, where my back and shoulders meet. This morning when I first woke up, however, it was between that spot and my left shoulder... so rolling over to lie on my right shoulder, semi-agony, rolling over to my left, totally fine.



Source

Obviously this is a massive improvement on the previous Any Movement Equals Frozen Pain status, I'm hoping it just super disappears by the end of the week. Hear that neck? Deadlines.

Anyway, that is all not really relevant to anything, I just thought it was strange enough to share.

I'm back in a Normal Person Gym instead of my Ninja Shed, and it really reminded me of just how long my workouts are... not only because people are finishing their entire workouts while I'm just plodding away, but because dudes kept giving me the Why Are You Hogging That Rack.... I WANNA LIFT evil eye. I'd then get to my 40 second two handed lock-off and then they'd pull out the Okay Fair Enough Mystery Weirdo evil eye and we'd be cool.

Probably. I'm sure it was infuriating that I was using their squat rack and not even grunting or loading 700kgs on a bar.



Source

I really concentrated on my form and doing these reps as slowly as possible.. which was really rough, but great, but exhausting but good for me but yeah. Those 40 second lockoffs were murder. I got to 40 seconds on the first one, and they all went downhill from there... definitely a work in progress.

Today's exercises

Warm up
5 minutes jump rope

Tendonitis Conditioning
15 pound cable machine for 15 counts over 18 different movements

Tendonitis Strengthening
5 sets of:
~6 reps of pull ups
~6 reps of push ups
~10 bar grabs
~6 reps of dumbbell wrist extensions
~40 seconds of Two Hand Lockoffs
~6 reps of Tricep Dips

Injuries & sore spots

My quads and my calves were really sore from MondayLegday. DOMS all over the shop.
It's been a while since I've smashed some legs, so this was to be expected... but maaaaaannnnn.

Goals for January

  • 20 minutes of stretching every day (inspired by @polebird)
  • At least 2 classes of acroyoga (inspired by @karensuestudios)
  • Hit the top of the 14' 6" wall with both hands (December's was 14")
  • One armed pull up
  • One handed pushup (challenged by @dolladu)
  • 8 foot peg board (challenged by @skiesandsports)
  • 15 minutes of meditation and visualization every day (challenged by @just2random)

Upcoming Events

  • Ninja competition (UNAA) in Portland - 4th Feb
  • American Ninja Warrior Experience in Phoenix - 10th Feb
  • American Ninja Warrior Experience in San Diego - 3rd March

Images provided by Google Image Search of 'Australian Ninja Warrior'.


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png


U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png
steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

I live vicariously through @aussieninja

The man is a pure stud, a ladies man.. the quintessential Australian Pantie Dropper.. A manly Man, A ninja warrior, but soft and sensitive too.. a photographer of models, well spoken... I mean he could be the worlds most interesting man..

0fafdc033aaa708cdb509ea5df56ab38.jpg

Long live @Aussieninja...

Hahahaha, this is AMAZING!
I haven't been around much lately, being spending all my time in the office and driving... but I'm back now and ready to rock! Hope you and the family have been well. I'll have to check out everything @chelseajo has been up to lately.

Goooooooooooooooooooooo BTC!

Weird with the neck pain! I guess maybe the strain it was causing must have aggravated another area a bit....weird!

Haha I hope you did the proper 'beefcake at the gym' routine of THROWING the weights down after you had grunted as loud as possible (to get as much attention for your MANLY activities as possible obv)? Dissapointed to see you concentrated on correct form, from my gym observations I've found the preferred method to be 'quick as possible and jerky as fuck'. It's ok, we all have to start somewhere right? ;)

Off for my xray tomorrow, if there's nothing wrong then it's steroid injection next week. I'll race you to see who can do the pegboard challenge first ;) Up and down or just up it? I reckon I should be able to get back on it in just under three weeks, so you've got a big head start!

Hahahaha, this might be the best comment ever!
Another day I was at the gym and this super tall, super beefy mega douche was throwing his weights around and making a total racket... some other old dude got mad at him and yelled and the douche just got his Beats by Dre and put 'em on so he couldn't hear any more complaints. It was so perfect.

While I was doing this set, this huge dude repped out 30 pushups in the same time I did my 6, and he smirked and looked so proud. I forgot just how much fun the gym was. Douchebags as far as the eye can see.

Hahaha, up and down man... cos mine is probably too tall to jump down from. Safety (and difficulty) first!
You're on! Good luck with the thumb, hopefully the tendonitis sorts itself out.

It's mental isn't it! The last time I was in the free weights section was years ago but this massive beefcake dude did a couple of lifts with some 40kg+ dumbbells then literally dropped them from chest height. The buggers bounced a couple of meters, could easily have nakkered someones legs. Absolute arsehole. Seriously amazes me some people that you see at the gym!

Sweet, up and down it is! Need to get my roids on!!

so as competition is coming nearer and nearer your passion is increasing. great going. All the best for competition

3 weeks to go until my first comp!
I've definitely got a lot of work to do... but my injuries seem a lot better, so it's only up from here!
Thank you so much for your continued support, I really appreciate it!

This is a good news that your injuries are curing. i like it. All the best for your all competition. my wish and prayer for your success. After all you are steemians:) keep chilling have a nice time @aussieninja

Congratulations @aussieninja! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You blow on two 6-sided dice, and throw:

First die lands...
You rolled a 2.

Second die lands...
You rolled a 2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00