Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 12

Day 12

Today was a day for looking like a weirdo.
I forgot my gym bag at the hotel this morning... and didn't realize until I arrived at the gym at lunchtime - the way everyone was looking at me I might have been the first business man getting down to business on the cable machine.


mj-618_348_the-evil-geniuses-behind-american-ninja-warrior.jpg

After work my plan was to go back to the hotel, change into less-suit, go rock climbing and then hit the gym for my forearm/grip strength workout.

What I found when I go outside that the delightfully romantic falling snow at lunchtime had turned into mega-ice by 5pm. My little rental car was slipping and sliding on every corner... pretty sure I'll be renting an SUV from now on. I grew up in the land of droughts, deserts and goannas, not slip 'n' slide bumper cars.

3ECDC49F00000578-0-image-a-89_1491236737532.jpg

Source

This meant I had to work out in the hotel. It has a gym but it's tiny and filled with cardio machines.

It did have some kettle bells so I used a range of them for some farmers walk exercises to smash the forearms. The room is tiny so I had to walk back and forth with 50 pound kettlebells through the lobby, much to the jovial amusement to the drinkers at the hotel bar.

Weirdo.

I finished off the night in the crazy way-too-hot lava Jacuzzi they have. My back was super sore from it's smashing yesterday and so the hot hot helped a lot.

Today's exercises

Tendonitis eccentric exercises

15 pounds on the cable machine; pulling it every which way for 15 reps each.

Grip workout
3 reps of 40 second hammer curls with 15 pound dumb bells with fat gripz
3 reps of 40 second walks with 2 50 pound kettle bells.
3 reps of 40 second walks each arm of 30 pound kettlebell and a pipe extension.
3 reps of 40 second forearm roller with 12 pound kettlebell.

Injuries & sore spots

My hamstrings are so sore from Day 10. I actually thought it would be my quads, but nope.

My back was also pretty sore from my pull-ups yesterday. Good sore.

Goals for December

Get back on track to all my tendonitis exercises
Beat that last rung on the double salmon ladder
Get the 14 foot warped wall (I used to do it easily but my technique was "cheating" so now I'm trying to do it properly but haven't got it yet).

Image provided by Google Image Search of 'American Ninja Warrior'

Sort:  

Great job keep up the good work, you are passing me in followers and account value..... :)...

Thanks, but that little spike is not due to quality content. There is a small but extremely supportive Aussie early-Steem adopters that I found on Discord who have (unwisely?) decided to befriend me.

The account value increase is also irrelevant to quality.. I've decided to invest in Steem so that I can have more power and sway and upvote my friends.

I did the same thing. I'm glad you also believe in its future :)

Actually, you were the inspiration behind the move. I love how transparent everything is here... I saw that were about as new as me but had a touch more voting power and so thought that was a great idea. I really think Steem could be an absolute powerhouse once the big influencers (and then corporations) come to play.

ort-let-the-bribes-flow-through-you-good-good-685217557383cd194b4f10ae4b39eebf.jpg

Well I will upvote you.. so what's discord?

It's a chat program where you can pick a channel (topic) that you like and talk to like-minded people:

Step 1: Download Discord on your smartphone or PC using this link https://discordapp.com

Step 2: Join this Channel https://discord.gg/uYaqvHe

There's a vets channel in there.

I actually followed these instructions in their entirety:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@tech-trends/newbie-special-hf19-minnow-support-project-do-you-want-upvotes

And now I chat in the Aussie channel. Everyone is super friendly and helpful.

Yay for pull ups! Lol the first picture you posted... makes me wonder how and who comes up with the obstacles 😂

I know right! It's not just a random craziness generator like you'd assume... they go and build and test and trial and test again until it makes it onto the show... it has to be doable by a huge range of people to be included... really makes you think about all the crazy stuff they came up with that didn't get through testing..

Keep up the good work! Take care of yourself. :)

Thanks so much! I love how supportive and generous everyone has been here... it really means a lot!

I hear you, the roads were brutal to drive on today. Keep up the good work!

Thanks!

Yes, I think only rental SUVs from now on... or my personal favourite (no travelling for work until non-winter)

Congratulations @aussieninja! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You got a 1.51% upvote from @upme requested by: @aussieninja.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by theadz4000 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72