Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 11

Day 11

It's always so weird exercising on equipment you're not used to. Even an exercise as simple as a pull-up... grab a bar, pull yourself up, suddenly feels so different and hard when there is no bar and instead there's pull-up handles set all sorts of different angles. Suddenly you're working your muscles slightly differently, and they're never happy about it but it's good for them.

I loved being back in a normal gym again. I love my home-gym but I do miss the odd, and occasionally impressed looks I get when I'm throwing myself all over the pull up bars, etc.

american-ninja-warrior-usa-vs-world.png

My desk at home is a standing desk, but I don't have that option when I'm in the mid-west... so I was absolutely aching to get out and working out by lunchtime today... so much sitting drives a ninja nuts.

Both of today's sessions really hurt.
I didn't have a weight vest, so I concentrated on form. My pull-up bar thing at home isn't tall enough for me so I have to bend my knees which means I don't let myself fall down as far... these bars I could fully extend downwards, and so trying to get that form exactly right, and taking 4 seconds on both the up and the down of the pull-up really beat me up.
A good beat-up.

lindsay1.jpg

I very, very, very nearly bailed on the last set of my pull-up series... but I didn't want to have to explain that to you guys so I keep grinding away and I'm glad I did... so thanks Team Steemit!

Today's exercises

Tendonitis eccentric exercises

15 pounds on the cable machine; pulling it every which way for 15 reps each.

Tendonitis strengthening exercises

5 sets of:

6 reps of slow pull-ups (4 seconds up, 4 seconds down)
6 reps of slow push-ups
6 reps of squishy ball squashing
10 reps of chin-up holds (hold for 4 seconds when your arms are at 90 degrees)
6 reps of wrist full extension lifts, using a 5 pound dumb bell.
6 reps of slow tricep dips

Fun times

Skyzone Trampoline park for 15 minutes... the have a 12 ft warped wall, a kids ninja warrior course , rock climbing wall and trampolines... most of the sections were closed by the time I got there so I just smashed the wall a few times and bounced around... a surprisingly exhausting cardio workout.

Sort:  

That's some heavy workload!

Must be tough to replicate the kind of 'obstacles' that you are likely to encounter at the competitions. Improvising with equipments and installations are the only 'cheaper' way ahead I guess.

Yeah, I was pretty blasted afterwards. Felt good... felt like I put in a solid effort and was proud of the work I put in. I usually feel like I haven't done enough.

There are some obstacles that you just can't replicate in any way, shape or form... so then you have to think about what makes a natural athlete... it's usually someone who can move their body around to wherever they need it to be... so you kind of work on that in place of specific obstacle training.

Ahhhh! Excited to have found a ninja warrior on steemit!! I love watching the competitions! 💪💪haha been meaning to stop by a course in town and see how miserably I would fail.. I think they have different levels to play on tho! I’m looking forward to reading about your journey

I think, my young friend @polebird, that you'd actually do very, very well. Pole dancers have strong hands, an amazing core, you're tough and you have great aerial awareness. You'd take to it a lot quicker than most other athletes... if you ever go and post about it I'm going to resteem that business so hard!

Thank you!

:) I’m excited to hear that!! Maybe I can go on the medium course they have there for fun and see 😜 thanks for the encouraging words!

If you don't mind me asking, which place are you talking about? I might have been there already...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aussieninja to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83