The Book of Jezebel (An Introduction)

in #americana8 years ago (edited)

Howdy all!  My friend--uber-talented photographer, artist and fellow Minneapolis resident-- @Kommienezuspadt was raving to me today about steemit, so I thought I'd give it a try.  Love the idea and am excited about the possibilities of connecting with more people who really care about art and aren't afraid to be weird.

I'm an independent songwriter/musician originally from rural Minnesota.  I grew up in the country, surrounded by trees and water and lots and lots of Jesus.   My parents were Pentecostal, born-again Christians and that has profoundly impacted my art...and rebellious nature.  I was always a strange child: wearing vintage clothes (well before it was cool), milking goats for show & tell and preaching about the upcoming rapture. 

Photo: Lars Kommienezuspadt

Now that I've outgrown most of that (NOT the vintage clothes, though!), I'm using my roots to forge my music-- a unique blend of folk, blues and roots rock.  I've got two music projects: Jezebel Jones & Her Wicked Ways, which focuses on cheeky retro country/bluegrass-y tunes and Bye Bye Banshee, a dark roots rock project that explores a more female-oriented,  natural (and less scary) view of death.

In addition, I've started doodling...through my death-related research and time living in Texas, I've been developing a series of skeleton drawings that pay homage to the phrase, Memento Mori, "Remember, we all must die".   These playful doodles--Church of Bones--are also inspired by the intricate bone/skull art seen in Ossuaries throughout Europe and also some of the great Mexican artists (such as José Guadalupe Posada) as well as motifs from European folk designs...and my love of vintage fashion.


Sort:  

Great to have you here @jezebeljones! I'm sure you'll find a lot to occupy yourself, while having an awesome place to share work with like minded folks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50