You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Has the American Dream Become a Nightmare?

in #american7 years ago

Ah the "college is the key to success fallacy." Don't get me wrong, I love learning and will be the first to attribute value to education. However, nothing makes me crazier than the outrageous cost that people are willing to pay institutions of higher learning. My neighbors went bankrupt by banking on student loans to save them, I personally know people that have just accepted that their college debt is going to follow them to the grave, and one of the most successful people that I know is a high school dropout that applied himself in a way that still blows my mind.

There is definitely no one right way to walk through this life with regards to education and vocation. I'm so happy to see people starting to think outside the old-school American Dream box! Looking forward to the next post in your series!

Sort:  

Thanks. As a seeker of Truth, I also love learning. I discovered that very rarely true learning doesn't take place in college. Life and experience coupled with verifiable research tends to be the best teachers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65