Pay your debts!

in #american3 months ago

image.png

Not only do the vast majority of Americans have no student loans, I would point out that in a bit over 1 year from now, I will have finished paying off over $80k worth of student loans, and it will have taken me roughly 15 years total. That's with about 2 years of deferments and making mostly minimum payments the whole time.

AND... I hold two arts degrees, which most people would falsely assume are impossibly unprofitable.

I've also never taken any job that was just "for the money". I've always worked in creative media, I've always worked on projects that were using my training or which taught me new skills.

I just don't have a lot of patience for people who can't figure this out, as it's not that hard... and my debt was significantly larger than the average (<$30k) to start with.

At this point, I look at it this way: If you have less than $100k in student loans, you've made a bet on yourself and you should be paying that off as you advance in your career. If you've got over $100k in student loans, you've made a large number of very, very poor choices and should not be able to simply skip out on the consequences or push your debts onto someone else.

Pay your debts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19