You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Falling Down America

in #america6 years ago

I don't know that we aren't hard-wired to tribalism. If you read through your post, you can read your disdain for certain people, which is the same "us vs them". Even the racist, the bigot, or whatever, is a person and has whatever reason for believing what they do.

I used to get wrapped up in this. However, I don't care anymore. I just accept them for who they are and that in their mind they have a perfectly sound reason for what they think. My wonderfulness won't change them. I don't excuse any of it. In the end, however, they are still people with people problems.

Change is messy. It breaks things. More importantly, it breaks people. The degree of change we are seeing, social and technological, is unprecedented. I am not optimistic that we will come out of these changing times without additional societal dysfunctions. I don't like it. But, I'm busy dealing with my own changing landscape.

Some of us are capable of enduring change. Others of us have limited capacity to deal with change. The spectrum of humanity that helps us survive as a species also necessarily means that progress will dash some poor souls on the rocks and leave them broken.

I haven't completely formulated my thoughts on this. These are just some ideas that popped into​ my head.

Sort:  

Yes, great comments. The way I see it, we are all trying to accomplish things here, fighting some battles, living and loving... but in the great scheme of thing we are just tiny bits of history like everything else. I'm sure in 2500 and 3000 AD they will think us extremely primitive in mindset. It's unavoidable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44