The lie that is America

in #america6 years ago

I've been in the US for close to a month now and it's been nothing but a disappointment.

You watch movies and it seems like a great place but in reality it's probably one of the most boring places I have ever been to. Like bland rice..or something. There's no flavor, no spice ..nothing...just bland.

It's like Facebook; everything about it is a lie. People think they have wealth when in reality it is a debt driven economy. Apparently if you have $25 and no debt, you are worth more than 75% of Americans. Student debt, credit card debt, mortgage debt, car repayments... I've met students that are 23 years old with up to 100k in student debt! How crazy is that? The worst part is that it's absolutely normal. Everyone has student debt. That's how you get a degree, which half of them never use. The student I spoke with has a degree in criminal law. She now trains dogs and probably won't use her 100k degree.

The people here are about as bland as their country. Fat, lazy, spoiled, wasteful, shallow and dumb.

Now I have to admit part of my negative perception might be due to the 2 amazing months I spent in Barra de Navidad, Mexico before coming here. Or maybe the man I fell in love with there has something to do with it, I can't be sure.

I do know that I can not wait to get on a plain out of here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66